Search
< Back to Product

Ariens 917011 Gas Log Splitters Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Sold Out
 
$1,399.00
(as of 06:47 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
 
$1,319.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$1,199.99
No Sales Tax* (Except CA,GA)
Visit Site
 
$1,199.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Ariens 917011 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (31)
I'd Buy It Again (20)
Price (18)
High Quality (16)
Exceeded Expectations (14)
Cons
Expensive (3)
Packaging (3)
Unreliable (2)
Durability (2)
Stripper May Come Up Sho... (1)
96% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
71 Reviews  Sort by 
 
James P.
Mountlake Terrace, WA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 7/14/14
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
28 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
AUG.
12
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Impressive Ariens Horizontal/vertical 22 Ton Log Splitter
When I received the Ariens Model 917011 22 Ton Horizontal/Vertical Log Splitter I was impressed with the design and operation. I did install Loctite 242 Threadlocker on most of the cap screws and nuts because of the vibration and flexing of some parts of the machine during normal operation just to be safe. It did come with a correct amount of hydraulic fluid in the reservoir and motor oil in the engine. After installation and tightening all cap screws I added a full tank of gas. The Subaru... more
View Image
Pros: Exceeded Expectations, Features, Fast, Use Horizontal And Vertical
James Recommends This Ariens Product
James's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Low cost with payment by check. Originally I received information they had the Ariens Model 917011 Log Splitter on back order and would be shipped in late August 2014. Then a few days later I received an e-mail stating the log splitter has shipped. It arrived fairly quickly by the freight carrier. The only part of the shipment I was not happy about was the $50.00 lift gate fee. Very few delivery freight trucks that I have used did not have a lift gate and that was generally because of items under 60 lbs. Otherwise I was happy receiving the shipment earlier than what the 1st notification of a backorder that I received."
 more
Was this review helpful?
2812
Robert H.
Middlesex, NJ
Total Helpful Votes
59 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
03
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Be Careful On The Tough Logs!
I bought the 22 ton and split about 1/2 cord before I broke the machine. I sunk the wedge into a very tough piece of Oak (very knotty section). Wedge stuck, wood would not split, attempted to retract the wedge. When the wood hit the side eject bars, the engine strained, then the coupling from the wedge to the hydraulic ram broke into pieces. (operator error? perhaps...but I would think the wedge connection should be engineered to withstand the forces that the system can place upon it).
more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Features, Light Weight
Cons: Low Quality
Robert Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
597
David M.
Casa Grande, AZ
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 6/12/13
Total Helpful Votes
53 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
03
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Buy For A Great Machine!!!!
After years of searching Craigs List and other sources for a used log splitter and finding average condition machines for $1000 give or take and not always knowing what the tonnage rating was, I found Log Splitters Direct. The value for the machine I received is outstanding. The shipping company was a joke and also upsetting. I was instructed to call the shipping company to make arrangements, which I promptly did. They asked me if the following Monday was OK for delivery, I said yes. They... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Price, High Quality
Cons: Shipping Company Issues
David Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
534
Bob J.
Shell, WY
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 5/30/13
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
40 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
21
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My New Ariens 22 Ton Logsplitter.
After splitting the fist, and only cord so far, The 22 tonner worked perfect. After assembly, easy, and filling with gas, it started with one pull. NICE. If it keeps performing like this it will be a great machine. Run's Fast, Smooth and Quiet. Slices through the Cottonwood like butter. The service to purchase and receive the splitter from Log Splitters Direct was excellent.
Was this review helpful?
323
Ronnie P.
Kingsport, TN
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 11/19/13
Total Helpful Votes
28 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Glad I Waited
I was going to buy a log splitter from our local Lowe's. This particular one has a Honda engine and I know the performance of a Honda product is highly rated. However, my wife got on the internet and found the Ariens with a Subaru motor. I am so glad I waited and got the Ariens. It splits wood like a knife cutting thru butter. I can do a truck load of wood (huge logs , too) in less than an hour. And, the folks we ordered from are super to deal with. They will answer all your questions and... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable
Ronnie Recommends This Ariens Product
Ronnie Would Recommend Log Splitters Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Excellent is about the sum of it."
 more
Was this review helpful?
285
Dan B.
Lake Jackson, TX
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 5/11/13
Total Helpful Votes
26 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
22
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Splitter - Very Powerful
Made in the USA, and I'm very happy with my purchase. It split large (22" dia) Oak fine. I had some extremely twisted grain large Oak logs, and it split them. It got slow, but forced it's way through, actually cutting through the wood instead of it splitting along the grain.

Cycle time is fast, and better yet, the ram stops where you want, so when splitting short logs, you don't have to wait for the wedge to go far before hitting the wood. This may be typical, but it's not how my... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Fast, High Quality
Dan Recommends This Ariens Product
Dan Would Recommend Log Splitters Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Only negative was the $50 extra expense for a lift gate truck, but glad I paid it. The shipper, R&L, was excellent, and very professional. The head office called early to tell me they were running behind schedule due to an accident. The driver went WAY above and beyond expectations, helping me load it onto a trailer for transport to our land."
 more
Was this review helpful?
265
George L.
Rutherfordton, NC
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 1/6/14
Total Helpful Votes
23 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
17
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Put A Little Fun In Your Work
First off, we are nearing our 75th birthday. And we got everything together very easy with the instructions, and after reading instructions, we, myself and wife split over a cord of wood in less than a hour. And as hard as this work is, WE were not even tired, in fact enjoyed and had fun.. Recommend this splitter to any AGE....
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, Exceeded Expectations, Put Fun In A Hard Job
George Recommends This Ariens Product
George Would Recommend Log Splitters Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"SEE OUR RESPONSE ABOVE.. REPEAT IT."
 more
Was this review helpful?
234
June L.
Sacramento, CA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 11/24/14
Total Helpful Votes
21 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JAN.
26
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Very Nice
I find this machine easy to use, with one exception I feel it needs a more balanced base for the vertical use it becomes unbalanced and starts to tilt forward. Outside of that which can be dangerous it is easy to use.
June Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
213
Speed
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 8/26/14
Total Helpful Votes
20 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
13
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Breezes Through Seasoned Oak....
The Ariens 22 ton Log Splitter breezes through seasoned oak. I split some large diameter logs, and as long as the blade is on the grain, the splitter is superb. I broke it in with three cords of seasoned oak, and it performed flawlessly.

It is light enough to move around by hand, and is safe and easy to use. The Subaru engine starts right up. I did use Locktite on the assembly nuts, and purchased five gallons of hydraulic oil, you should too.

After splitting two cords of oak, the oil... more
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Fast, Light Weight
Speed Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
204
C. D.
Clovis, NM
Total Helpful Votes
18 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
24
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Performance And Value
Bought this splitter after reading the reviews - the reviews didn't lie. Split about six cords of fire killed Pine in a few hours (3 people) - worked flawlessly.
Pros: Durable, Price, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable
C. Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
182
Mike G.
Federal Way, WA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 8/21/13
Total Helpful Votes
22 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
03
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ariens 22 Ton Log Splitter
I go through only 3-4 cords of firewood per year, all Fir and Maple, which we have on our own property. I have been using an electric 6 ton splitter but it struggles on “wet” wood and is cumbersome to use even with two people.

The Ariens 22 ton splitter works like a champ. It took me less than an hour to set it up, from in the protective crate and did add about a gallon of hydraulic fluid. I had no problems with the shipper. I have only split about two cords so far and have used the splitter... more
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again
Mike Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
227
Michael P.
Missoula, MT
REVIEWED
OCT.
22
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Splitter!
I shopped around and found that the 22 ton would be the best for me. I get Fir and Larch at about 14 inches in length. Just used my new splitter today. Outstanding! I should have bought one years ago. Oregon makes a great splitter, but was about 2 feet longer than this one. 22 ton as well. They wanted about 300.00 bucks more. I bought my Ariens at Home Depot. Storage space in my shed is my problem. That's why I went with the Ariens. Once standing upright it will take less room in my shed. I... more
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable
Michael Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
151
Bruce P.
Circle Pines, MN
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/30/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
21
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Retiree Saving A Lot Of Back-breaking Work.
I've always enjoyed splitting wood with a maul. I actually thought it was fun. But now, as an old guy with back problems, I thought it was time to buy a splitter. The 22-ton Ariens splitter fits my needs perfectly.

Not only does it split through up to 24-inch diameter oak logs (maybe more), but it's also compact. At only 36 inches wide, and in the vertical position about 80 inches from end of trailer tongue to the end of the hydraulic control handle, it's easily stored.

This splitter... more
Bruce Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
152
Clarence M.
Rochester, WA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 8/3/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
17
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worth Every Dollar.
I saved the $50.00 lift gate fee by using forks on my big Kubota tractor. I had to call a friend to help me with assembly. It was more his coaching and allowing me to do the work, which was fine.

After starting and running the motor a bit the hydraulic tank took at least another gallon of hydraulic fluid to fill it up.

On the third day of use the log splitter wouldn't start. I called my friend he said to check the hydraulic system. The forward and reverse lever was in the reverse... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Price, Easy To Store
Clarence Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
120
Franklin M.
Caliente, CA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 7/1/14
REVIEWED
APR.
14
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Log Splitter, But ......
I purchased my log splitter during the summer of 2014, but didn't use it till winter. As far as splitting the logs I have, up to 4 ft in diameter, it meets my needs. It is easy to use, starts quickly and easily, and the splitting is very controllable.

But it has some features that I don't like. For instance, it does not run smoothly. It surges during certain phases of the operation. The gas tank does not have any way to tell how much gas is in it other than removing the filter and looking... more
Franklin Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
121
Phil B.
Potter Valley, CA
REVIEWED
OCT.
23
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Powerhouse With Speed
Picked up my Ariens 22 ton log splitter at my local HD on a pallet. Got it home, about 45 minutes to assemble. Checked the fluids about 3 quarts low on Hydraulic oil. Added oil.

Started right up! I let it warm up, took a few minutes for it to run smoothly. Ran the ram in an a few times. Split a cord of seasoned oak and madrone in no time.

Very fast cycle time. Makes log splitting fun! Very easy to move around by hand. I ordered fenders and put them on. Great looking and awesome... more
Phil Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
132
Zdenek S.
Yonkers, NY
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 11/19/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Buy
Great buy. Exceeded my expectations. Well made, strong steel components. The Subaru engine is awesome. This is going with me over seas....
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable
Zdenek Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
165
Woody S.
Salem, AL
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 2/26/14
REVIEWED
MAR.
21
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Well Spent Money
I owned a hydraulic splitter in the 1980s, it was uncomfortable to use and I would rather split with an axe. At 74 I thought I may try again. I checked out a few and this looked like the best design. I was surprised at how easy it was to assemble and the excellent design and quality of this machine. It is high enough that you don't have to break your back if you are splitting for a couple of hours and powerful enough to split large knotty cuts of Oak and Hickory also the rack eliminates the... more
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations
Woody Recommends This Ariens Product
Woody's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"We ordered by phone and it came the day and time we were told the delivery guy was excellent, could not have had a better experience. Keep up the good work."
 more
Was this review helpful?
112
Charles V.
Hopewell Junction, NY
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 1/2/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
23
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Buy Ever..
My husband and I burn wood in the winter months, and he always split wood by hand. Well not that he's old but we're both getting on in years so I thought it's about time he made it a little easier on himself, so I talked him into buying the log splitter, and he's very happy he did..
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Fast, Very Good Quality
Cons: I Don't Have Any Con
Charles Recommends This Ariens Product
Charles Would Recommend Log Splitters Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I said it all on the above story."
 more
Was this review helpful?
134
Martin S.
Colbert, WA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 8/24/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
27
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Value
I've used it about 6 hours total and I'm happy with the purchase. The cycle is ample fast, if you need faster you are either running a commercial operation or you have help. I use it for non commercial ends by myself and the cycle time is plenty fast.

I was a bit disappointed with the instructions. Warnings all over the place warned about fluids in the machine, to make sure you add oil and hydraulic fluid. After a while I figured out all I needed to put in was gas. Also, a retaining pin... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Easy To Store
Cons: Durability
Martin Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
1810
William Q.
Mooresville, IN
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 12/26/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Out Of Comfort Zone
Used an electric splitter for years until it finally broke. Wanted something more powerful, towable, and with its own power source. The website, broken down into consumer, prosumer, and pro was perfect in explaining the differences and the reviews were quite helpful...

I wanted to see the splitter first, but there were none close. Was worried making such a large purchase without seeing it and shipping by truck, but everything turned out great. I love the splitter.
William Recommends This Ariens Product
William's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Had trouble scheduling with the local trucking service, but Log Splitters Direct's customer service intervened and it was quickly delivered. The local driver went out of his way to make the delivery as it was snowing heavily. The packaging was impressive as it arrived without a scratch. Assembly was a little more complicated and took longer than I thought it would, but was relatively easy. All my worries were unfounded and it was an overall great experience."
 more
Was this review helpful?
81
A.
REVIEWED
OCT.
25
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Second Year Review
Any new log splitter will be great but what about after two years of use and about 15 chords processed?

This is a fine machine but unfortunately has a number of significant design flaws.

Most notably is where / how the hydraulic control valve is mounted on top of the piston. Use of the splitter requires constant movement of the control lever which is precariously mounted by way of a soft steel threaded pipe connector. Repetitive movement quickly loosens, gets sloppy and subsequently... more
Pros: Price, Light Weight
Cons: Unreliable, Durability
A. Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
82
Brian C.
Mechanicville, NY
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/29/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
21
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Logsplitter Receipt/assembly/use
I received from trucker who off-loaded from truck to driveway. Hardest part from that point was getting it out of the wooden crate/packing material.

Good secure shipping material. Assembly was relatively easy, good directions. Fired it up and it works great. Already split one oak tree. Great product so far. Will recommend you to all of my friends and family.
Brian Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
82
Bob J.
Shell, WY
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 5/30/13
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
40 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
23
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Subaru Engine Never Skips A Beat
We've put it through this season, splitting about 16 cords. It never missed a beat on our native Cottonwood and Pine. I'm sure it would perform well on Oak also. (If we had any here in Northern WY.)
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Reliable
Bob Recommends This Ariens Product
Bob Would Recommend Log Splitters Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great service and timing. I would buy again from Log Splitters Direct."
 more
Was this review helpful?
82
Rita W.
Fayetteville, AR
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/20/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
09
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy Hubby
Got tired of rubbing stinky ointments on hubby's aching shoulders from wielding his monster maul every fall. Went on line, and ordered his Ariens as a surprise. Best word for his new toy is "WOW." He only cursed three times during assembly (really big deal) and his smiles told me that I chose wisely. To all those wives out there, if your sweet hubby has to chop wood, consider surprising him with this neat toy. Doesn't he deserve it???
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Rita Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
137
Aaron Y.
Cannon Falls, MN
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/16/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
19
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
If You're Looking For A Lot Splitter I Strongly Recommend Ariens
I recently purchased an Ariens 22 ton log splitter and can honestly tell any one who reads this review to look no further. Ariens sells high quality machinery at an affordable price.

They delivered promptly and everything was in order and installation was very easy.

I love the time it saves and most importantly just how much better I feel because of less stress on my back. Thank you Ariens!
Aaron Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Jeff T.
Corning, CA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 4/26/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
10
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ariens Wood Splitter
When I received my log splitter, the pallet it was shipped on was toast. This made it difficult for one person to assemble. That being said, I just finished splitting three cord's of Oak and Eucalyptus wood. This machine was worth every penny. Even tough knotty type pieces were split with ease. Thank you for the deal.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations
Jeff Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
61
Kim L.
Hacker Valley, WV
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 8/14/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
08
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Buy
I bought this for my sister-in-law and brother-in-law. They use wood burning stoves to heat their homes throughout the year. They are thrilled with the ease of use. They cut mostly Oak. My brother-in-law had it out of the crate and assembled in about 1/2 hour. The machine cuts through the Oak very easily. Since they use so much wood, this machine has been a time saver as well as make the task of cutting wood much easier. They are thrilled. The only issue was the transportation - the... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Kim Recommends This Ariens Product
Kim Would Recommend Log Splitters Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Great service except for the final transportation company as stated before. I did pay extra to unload it. Glad I did!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
83
David F.
Wilkes Barre, PA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 5/23/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
18
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Value!
I looked at many other splitters. This is a great value. Well built, durable engine, light weight, fair price.
Pros: Exceeded Expectations, Price, Features, Light Weight
Cons: None
David Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
83
Ray J.
Higganum, CT
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 8/31/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Workaholic!
First log splitter after splitting wood by hand for 25 years. This is a beast. It cuts through all types of wood like butter. I have ash, cherry and no problem. The engine starts on the first pull every time. Just check the hydraulic fluid after each splitting session.

Very fast return and it's nice with the auto return for when working by yourself. Very smooth operation. The quality of this unit is far the best of many that I looked at. Best purchase ever!
Ray Recommends This Ariens Product
Ray's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Excellent experience. Sales staff, order representative very helpful. Went over everything with me twice."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Jeremy
Powers Lake, ND
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 3/8/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
30
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wow, I'm Impressed
This showed up unpacked it and set it up in less than an hour it was low on hydraulic fluid i would just plan ahead and have 2 gallons ready when you set it up the first time mine took almost the entire 2 1/2 gallon jug. Motor started on the second or third pull (had to get the gas into the carb) and it just runs great!

At this point I have split nearly 3 chords and this thing has not missed a beat. It really goes fast when you don't have to struggle to get the motor started or constantly... more
Jeremy Recommends This Ariens Product
Jeremy's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Overall very happy with the product and service as i said above i would have liked to see just a bit more communication from the sales dept."
 more
Was this review helpful?
73
Lance W.
Niagara Falls, NY
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 10/7/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
29
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Short Hitch Bolts Only Negative
Two longer bolts for the trailer hitch would be much easier for assembly then the 4 bolts that came with the splitter. This was my biggest hurdle in lining up the bolts in holes.
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Store
Cons: 2 Long Bolts Rather Then 4 Short Bolts To Assemble Trailer Hitch
Lance Recommends This Ariens Product
Lance Would Recommend Log Splitters Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Overall great product with lots of power for splitting wood."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Jeff Harshbarger
Atwood, IL
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 10/17/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Value!
After years of hand splitting I finally decided that I needed to replace my splitting maul. I searched on-line and did a little looking at my local big box stores. After reading the reviews on this splitter I decided to risk an on-line purchase. I ordered it on a Saturday afternoon and it arrived at my door step on Tuesday morning.

After less than an hour of assembly I fired it up after a few pulls and tried it on a stack of very knotty pine that I had been unable to split by hand. Like a... more
Jeff Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
30
David G.
Salem, OR
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/8/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
26
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great After New Engine
Set up my splitter. Started the engine and something did not seem right. Ran so fast I thought it might throw a rod. Used until the muffler fell off because it vibrated so bad a mounting bolt snapped off. Took to a local dealer and they wound up replacing the engine.

Now it runs and works great! Not sure what the problem was but my guess is the engine did not have a governor installed. I couldn't be more please with it now, even thought it was kind of a disappointing start.
David Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Leo S.
Castalia, OH
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 12/4/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
27
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Bolts R Kinda Hard To Get At Both
Bolts were hard to get at, but both the engine and the hydraulic fluid were already filled and it works like a charm.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Fast
Leo Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
63
Chad H.
Glidden, WI
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/9/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
06
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Splitting Wood
I am very happy with this splitter, the delivery went well and it runs really well and has a good warranty. Two thumbs up to Log Splitters Direct..
Pros: High Quality, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Durable
Chad Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
85
Jeffrey H.
Little Rock, AR
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 10/26/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
18
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Solid Machine
Very pleased with the performance of the Ariens log splitter. At the age of 64, I have split and stacked over a cord of wood. This machine has not shown any sign that I presented it with something it could not handle. I have split wood of and own for over thirty years and very pleased with my Ariens.

For those who wrote about assembly issues in putting machine together, not so at all. My biggest problem was getting it out of the crate that it was shipped in, which frankly really pleased... more
Jeffrey Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Cecil K.
Cincinnati, OH
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 7/19/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Buy
We added it to our commercial splitters. It's run many hours so far and been flawless. Great buy, quick delivery. Great deal all the way around.
Cecil Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Stephen C.
Pottstown, PA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 11/25/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
18
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Ariens Model #917011
Impressed with the features and performance of the Ariens. Engine starts up on first pull and has no problem splitting hard wood.

The only complaint I have is that the hydraulic cylinder for the controller is dripping fluid from the first use and there is no way to stop it.
Stephen Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Mike M.
Ten Sleep, WY
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 11/10/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
12
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Log Splitter
My husband has always wanted a log splitter and after searching many different sites, I was thrilled to find a log splitter that was excellent and a great price.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable, Durable
Mike Recommends This Ariens Product
Mike Would Recommend Log Splitters Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast shipping and the product appears to be as described."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Marta B.
Republic, WA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/2/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
05
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
8 Cords Of Wood
Our heat is mostly from the wood stove, we like the pieces of wood to be of a easily handled size. And swinging an axe just isn't an option any longer. So this is great, especially the pieces that were full of knots. The biggest rounds split easily and that makes a big difference. We love its operation. Putting it together was somewhat problematic but with the help it went together. Tongue installation was the most problematic. One long bolt instead of 2 short ones would have made a big... more
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Price, Fast
Cons: Cut Not Clean, Needs Long Tongue Bolts
Marta Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Christopher M.
Sinks Grove, WV
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/10/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
One Of The Best Decisions I've Ever Made
Delivery was prompt. Driver was a very nice fellow. Unpacked, followed directions, fueled splitter, and started first time on 3 pulls.
The power of this machine is fearsome. It will cut right through a log laid cross-wise on the beam, if you wished to. I am not kidding.
This thing is a certified bad-ass.

Pay attention to the instructions, both safety and operating. Do not operate this machine unless you have a stable, dry and level patch of ground beneath you. Ignore this advice at your... more
Christopher Recommends This Ariens Product
Christopher's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Well designed, well built, more power than Led Zeppelin, if that is possible. Easily put together. Respect this machine for the power it generates, for it has more than you'll probably ever need. I heat a 2 story 150 year-old farmhouse, so I need to split a whole lot of wood. Primary heat source. This was one of the best major purchases I have ever made. I could not be happier with this splitter. Subaru motor fires up on one pull. Be polite to your friends when they express an interest in borrowing it, just smile and tell them to go to hell."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Stephen S.
Parma, OH
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 4/23/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
22-ton Log Splitter
It is a nice log splitter. On the plus side I like the ease of deploying the stand when you disconnect from your side by side. It is also very balanced with the ram fully extended.

One thing you have to be careful of is, if a log is too heavy the splitter will tip. I plan to make a leg that I can attach to the opposite end of the hitch so this doesn't happen again.
Stephen Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Carl L.
Edina, MN
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 7/24/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
14
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Couldn't Be Easier
The website was extremely helpful in helping pick out a product.

I can't believe how quickly my order arrived.

Love the splitter.
Carl Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Charles W.
Gahanna, OH
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 3/16/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
07
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Extra Power Helps
I opted for a 22-ton splitter, so I could split tough wood. I have not used it much yet. I assembled it, fueled it, and tried it out on some problem logs I had not been able to split manually. No problem with those. Not much run time on it yet, but so far I am satisfied. The cover keeps it looking good while I store it outside.
Charles Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Chris L.
Wentworth, CO
REVIEWED
APR.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Money Well Spent
This splitter can not be stopped by Aussie red gum or iron bark, and when it comes to knots in the logs, it punches straight through them at a blink of an eye. I'm very happy that I spent my money on this splitter
Chris Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Bruce S.
Lewisburg, WV
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 10/15/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Log Splitter Review
I recently purchased an Ariens 22-ton horizontal/vertical gas log splitter and have had the opportunity to use it a few times.

This is the first log splitter I have ever owned. For years, I have split wood the old fashioned way - by hand.

I am definitely glad I made the purchase, due to the ease and speed of splitting wood. What I used to spend hours doing can now be accomplished in a fraction of the time.

The purchase process and delivery was seamless and the unit I purchased was easy... more
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Price, High Quality
Cons: It Is Somewhat Difficult To Read The Hydraulic Oil Level
Bruce Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Judy H.
Grants Pass, OR
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/7/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ariens Log Splitter
Came just in time for a log load of Madrone! So cool and so easy to use. Will definitely use this for years to come!
Judy Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
32
Anthony J.
Gowanda, NY
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/30/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
22
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice
Nice
Anthony Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Joe
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/27/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
20
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Powerhouse!
I got this unit about two weeks ago. Make sure you check the hydraulic fluid, mine was about two quarts low. Not a big deal. It fired right up and after a short warm up, I started splitting. It powered through everything! The Subaru motor runs very nice. I don't think anyone could be disappointed with the performance of this splitter!
Joe Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
32
John V.
Milford, MI
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 7/2/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
24
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Splitter
Use it about 4 fours so far and exceeds all expections.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable, Easy To Store
Cons: Packaging, Came With 2 Flat Tires
John Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Arthur R.
Fairfax, VA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 6/25/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
19
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Pleased So Far
I have about 8 hrs of splitting on mine in the last couple of weeks, and I have no complaints. Delivery went smoothly and the pallet / crate were very sturdy and in excellent shape, so the splitter arrived in mint condition. In fact, getting the machine out of the packaging was a bit of a challenge!

Set up and assembly went well I only messed up one time and it was an easy fix. If you are only marginally mechanically inclined (which is what I consider myself), you can assemble and set... more
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Price, Quiet
Arthur Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Josh C.
Wanblee, SD
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 2/13/14
REVIEWED
MAR.
27
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Machine
Splitter was easy to assemble. Although it came without any extra hydraulic fluid. It is still a good buy, I've used it successfully with no problems except it doesn't like real cold weather. But I would recommend it to anybody who is looking for a splitter.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Store, Durable
Cons: Expensive, Unreliable, Delivery Service
Josh Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
54
Jeffry S.
South Bend, IN
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 2/14/14
REVIEWED
MAR.
16
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Delivery Company Stunk
Ordered by check, for the extra discount. Delivery company (ABF) called Thursday night and stated they would deliver next day. So I took a vacation day from work to receive it. Got a call at noon that they could not deliver it till Monday because their driver wasn't available. So had to take Monday off as well. Glad I work somewhere where I could do that otherwise it would have been a problem.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality
Cons: Packaging
Jeffry Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
21
T G.
Tollhouse, CA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 1/20/14
REVIEWED
MAR.
03
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Couldn't Be More Pleased And I Am Very Difficult To Please.
Have owned and/or used almost 1/2 doz. splitters over the years. Now retired, have limited funds and require the best quality. This log splitter is reasonably priced and far better than any I have used before in its own category. If I had room on my bed for me and my dogs as well as the splitter - it would definitely go to bed with us so it would know how much it is loved.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations
T Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
21
John N.
Montauk, NY
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 8/20/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
14
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine.
The splitter is easy to use and the power of splitting the logs is great.
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
John Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
32
James
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 12/7/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
29
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Works Like A Champ
This splitter has plenty of power and goes through knotted logs with no problem. Assembly instructions were straightforward and it was up and running in about an hour. The only complaint is with the Hydraulic relief cap on the reservoir. Under normal conditions it was releasing oil (yes the level was correct). Fixed it by adding a 4" standoff pipe.
James Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
22
Gene B.
Temecula, CA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 11/13/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
07
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy To Use Log Splitter
I had an Ariens snow blower at the home we moved from 13 years ago and it worked well, so I decided to purchase an Ariens log splitter. It works equally as well. Starts quick and splits logs fast. I usually split Oak, Avocado and Willow wood. This splitter does the job with ease.
Gene Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Marjorie J.
Stonington, CT
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 11/13/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
04
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It!
Easy to assemble and operate and easy of mobility. Instructions indicated that it would need up to 2 1/2 gallons but, luckily, it came with hydraulic fluid already in it so I only had to add about 2 quarts. Great product!
Marjorie Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Tony
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 11/4/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
30
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Does A Great Job
I love this splitter! It does a great job. I have used it on Locust, Hemlock, Maple and Apple. Have not tried it on knotty Spruce yet, but will next week. It has no problems dealing with anything I've given it. Also have not tried it in vertical mode.

Only complaints:
Gas tank could be bigger. It was missing a clevis pin that Ariens could not supply.
Tony Recommends This Ariens Product
Dale, the Log Splitter Expert
Product Expert
Tony,
Tony,

Please send us your serial number and we would be happy to look into the issue of the missing clevis pin for you. It seems weird Ariens would not be able to supply this, but we would be happy to look into this further.
more
Was this review helpful?
11
D L
Crossville, TN
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 10/20/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
28
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Investment
Well worth the money, great engine, light weight and easy to operate.
D Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Mark M.
Murray, UT
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 10/3/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
30
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Quality
Fantastic splitter. Everything including the assembly required was exactly the way it was advertised. I'm very satisfied. Wish I had bought this 10 years go.

If I had to complain about anything (and I'm not) the Subaru engine s pretty noisy but some $1.00 ear plugs take care of that.
Mark Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Clint C.
Byron, MI
REVIEWED
OCT.
30
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good.
Got this log splitter a couple days ago and already went through two tanks of gas. Seems to have no problem splitting the biggest/hardest wood that will fit into it. Pretty easy to set up, and easy to pull around by hand. So far so good!
Clint Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
22
Randy
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 8/11/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Would Have Received 5 Stars But There Was One Issue And Another
I purchased this 1 month ago and assembly was fairly easy (you need a helper). When I started it for the 1st time it would not start. Gas was on, choke was in the choked position, switch in the on position. It was a warm day so I thought it might not need to be choked so I turned choke off. It started but ran poorly. Long story short the choke was installed backwards. So on a new splitter I was forced to remove the carb disconnect wiring and correct choke. It was 20 minutes and not a big deal... more
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Price, Features
Cons: Stripper May Come Up Short
Randy Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
23
Edward F.
Harrisville, MI
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 4/5/14
REVIEWED
MAY.
18
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ariens Log Splitter
It has been a true joy to own. This log splitter has the power to do the job with no strain on the motor or my back. I would recommend the Ariens 22 ton log splitter to anyone.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable
Edward Recommends This Ariens Product
Edward's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Purchasing the log splitter was great, my only bad experience was that I purchased it knowing that it was on back order. It took a little longer then I expected to receive it, but overall it was a great transaction with the company. I couldn't be more happier with the communication between the company and myself, they kept me very informed on everything from the time I bought it to the time I received it. I totally recommend this product and this company."
 more
Was this review helpful?
12
Morris E.
Oroville, WA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 5/13/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
02
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Ariens 917011
Works good, hard to start needs primer bulb.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable, Easy To Store
Morris Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
34
Joseph H.
Sequim, WA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 3/9/15
REVIEWED
APR.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Everything I Wanted For A Splitter
I have 7 acres of forest that was logged, leaving approximately 100 cords of fire wood. I intend to cut and split 12 cords. I'm impressed with the engine. I will probably sell it when I'm through.
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Price, Could Use A Side Table
Joseph Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
02
Tim W.
Ravenden, AR
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/26/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
12
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
Bought this about a month ago and love everything about it. Works great.
Tim Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
02
Susan M.
Landrum, SC
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 4/16/14
REVIEWED
MAY.
29
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Wanted The Best
I ended up ordering from Log Splitters Direst, asked some questions of them, got great and quick replies. Now Big Red sits happily in the hay barn, freed from his crate awaiting his first job. My son read the manual, pulled the starter rope and he fires up sweet as could be. We are all longing to get him into harness and there are lots of logs waiting his services. I KNOW we are going to be pleased with our purchase even though we haven't got round to putting him to work yet.
Pros: Not Yet Used But Soon
Susan Recommends This Ariens Product
Susan's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I was really happy dealing with Log Splitters Direct and would always go to them again and send anyone who was in the market, to them."
 more
Was this review helpful?
24
Mike S.
Seward, NE
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 7/17/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
23
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Splitter
The wood splitter is easy to use. It came very fast. It came within 5 days.
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, Easy To Store, Light Weight
Cons: Packaging
Mike Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
14
Morris E.
Oroville, WA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 5/13/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Runs Ok, Cylinder Gets Hot
Have not tried it on heavy large wood but on small 6 to 8 inch. Cylinder gets hot to touch.
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Reliable, Easy To Store
Cons: Expensive
Morris Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
1035
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Ariens 917011 gas log splitter reviews.Compare our Ariens 917011 ratings. Find the Ariens 917011 gas log splitter that is right for you.