Search
< Back to Product

Boss Industrial ES7T20 Electric Log Splitters Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$449.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$449.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$449.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$449.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Boss Industrial ES7T20 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (21)
I'd Buy It Again (13)
Price (10)
Quiet (10)
Exceeded Expectations (8)
Cons
Expensive (2)
Packaging (1)
Heavy (1)
Unsure Of Long Term Reli... (1)
Shipped Low On Hydraulic... (1)
97% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
95 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Dale, the Log Splitter Expert
Log Splitter Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
36 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
966 Helpful Votes
Log Splitters Direct Recommended

The Boss Industrial ES7T20 7-ton electric log splitter is a powerful little splitter that still runs on a 15 amp 120-volt circuit. The 14 second cycle time gives you time to prep logs and move split logs out of the way. One hand operation works well when you are splitting logs without the help of others to position logs for you.

A solid sturdy structure incorporating a handle and wheels make transporting this unit a breeze. The ES7T20 also has the ability to have a 4-way added as well,... more
Dale Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
223
Kenneth B.
Branford, CT
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/11/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
16 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
OCT.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Es7t20
Follow up video to my review.
Describing why I decided to purchase the ES7T20 and how well it does the job.

See original review
Kenneth Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Kenneth,
Your video is fantastic. Thank you for taking the time to record and post this.


Thank you for buying a Boss - and for the commercial!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
132
James H.
Centerville, OH
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 10/21/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
DEC.
05
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
I Wish It Worked.
I have not been able to split a log. I am hoping the fluid level is low.
Cons: Unreliable
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
James,
Sorry to hear your splitter is not working properly. Have you tried calling our service department to help trouble shoot what is wrong with your 7 Ton (800) 780-2677? All our machines come with a 2 year warranty so weather it is something minor or major we can definitely get your machine up and going for you.

Ron
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Frank H.
Fountain, FL
REVIEWED
OCT.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Was A Good Investment
arrived in good condition soon as I unpacked it went to the 1/2 cord of unsplit wood from last year 35 mins later I was done very impressed with the machine never show any sign of strain on motor next week I have 4 down 40" trees waiting to be split don't see any problem getting the job done
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Store
Frank Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Frank,
Thanks for buying a Boss, happy splitting!

Ron
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Kenneth B.b.
Branford, CT
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/11/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Workhorse
I had an oak professionally dropped. The tree was about 200 ft tall. The stump measures 38 inches in diameter. Pointing this out because the 18" pieces of the stump weigh about 200 lbs. so no matter what splitter I bought I would not be able to move them to split without some kind of power lifting machine. I was able to split chunks off with a maul and wedges. So I thought I don't produce tons of force with a mall. I didn't feel like spending $2,000 or more for a 20 ton machine. So... more
View Image
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Power Cord Support To Electrical Box
Kenneth Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Kenneth,
Thanks for the awesome review! I am glad I had a chance to speak with you before your purchase. Log Splitter Direct is a great company, and they always have great customer service. I have not had a single customer complain to me about them.

I have to say Ken - that is a serious wood pile you made there. You know LSD has wood racks available in the accessory section, right?

Glad you are happy with your machine, and it's great to see that stack came from a 7 ton. Many people don't believe me when I tell them that you can split a tree with an ES7T20 if you know what you are doing. Thanks for proving it for me.

And as always....thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Kenneth's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Answered all questions. Very knowledgeable of products. Pleased with shipping time as well. Thumbs up for Log Splitters Direct and John at Boss. Thanks folks!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
31
Kenneth B.
Branford, CT
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/11/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
16 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I'm Done!
Follow up to my review and a video. 3 trees dropped. 2 oak and 1 maple. 2 months later.... my results as pictured. Those rows are 26 feet long. If my math is right I figure I have about 9 cord. Probably could have done it all with a maul by hand. But the ES7T20 made the job quicker and with so much less physical effort.

Aside from my initial comment of the electrical cord connection "in" problem there have been no mechanical situations thru the entire 2 months of splitting.... more
View Image
Kenneth Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Kenneth,
Thanks for your update, photos, and videos. I think you have submitted some of the best photos, and you have really taken the time to share your story. We appreciate it, and are very impressed with the stacks!

If you need anything - let us know.
Thanks again for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
32
Chris
Simi Valley, CA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 3/8/16
REVIEWED
APR.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
As Advertised
I've had my ES7T20 for about a month now, and put it to the first real test a week or so ago. My neighbor was cutting down a fairly large pine tree, so I asked him for a few rounds to test out my new log splitter. Before I knew it, I ended up with most of the tree and an unscheduled job of splitting. The splitter took almost everything I threw at it, including rounds up to about 22 inches (though these were kept fairly short (about 10-12 inches max). The splitter is advertised to split up... more
View Image
Chris Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Chris,
Thanks for the detailed review. I am certain others will find it very useful. The ES7T20 7 ton is pound for pound one of the best log splitters on the market! As you found out, it will usually split a much larger diameter than we claim. We have to be conservative when we put it on paper.

Time wise - the 7 ton is very competitive with gas splitters - we have our 16 ton dual action which splits more than twice as fast, but for the money, you can't go wrong with the 7 ton.

As for the tricky knots - I have had my best luck splitting them with the knot (branch) pointed up and away from the wedge. This allows the machine to split the log a bit and get it cracked open before hitting the knot. The momentum of the split can pull them apart easier than trying to hit them head on. Let me know if that works better next time.

If you have any other questions, please feel free to let us know.
And ...

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
01
Billy H.
Port Austin, MI
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 11/9/16
REVIEWED
DEC.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Log Splitter Has Split Logs Larger Than What The Specificat
The splitter exceeded my expectations. Its easy to use and my girlfriend loves it. She surprise me and split two face cords while I was at work one day. Looks like I lost my job of splitting wood.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Store
Cons: Expensive
Billy Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Billy,
Glad to hear your 7 ton is working well. It does have some limitations so I wouldn't try to go to big over the specs. Thanks for buying a Boss.

Ron
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Mark M.
Kalispell, MT
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/19/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
Works great, have 2, gave one to son, he loves his too. I have 5 ton, he has 7 ton, both are excellent. Very quick and easy to use in garage with no hassles.

The function of the start button and hydraulic ram are better than most others in the way that they are set in motion.

We use them often as great for making kindling wood to start wood stove too. have split lots of wood with them, no problems. we have no connection to product or ped direct.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Price, Easy To Store
Mark Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Mark,
Glad to hear both your splitters are working well and thanks for the kind words.

Ron
Boss Industrial
more
Mark's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"THEY DELIVERED THE GOODS, ON TIME, AS ORDERED, NICE TO DEAL WITH."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Richard K.
Leslie, MI
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 1/25/16
REVIEWED
APR.
18
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Better Then Expected
Well worth the money. Just the one for in the basement wood splitting . Shipping is the week point, box was damaged and light damage to the unit.
Richard Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Richard,
Thanks for your review. We are glad it is better than you expected! As to shipping: give us a call - we are happy to take care of any parts (wheel?) that may have been damaged in shipping. Not all the shipping truck drivers like picking up 115 lbs. so they drag them off the back bumper and let them fall! Either way - just call our service line, 800-780-2677 ext. 304, and we will take care of it.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Miles S.
Spring City, TN
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 12/24/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Don't Wait, Get Yours Today
The Boss 7-Ton electric splitter is simply a necessity if you heat by wood! It seems like there is always too many logs that I did not split small enough, and my gas splitter has been winterized since Thanksgiving.

This year I took a chance and bought a Boss 7-Ton electric splitter and I am very pleased that I did!! It does it's job better than advertised! I store mine under a work bench, and when needed it is very easy to roll it wherever I want to use it. ( As of now I have not stored... more
Miles Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Miles,
Thanks for the review. I am sure your neighbors would be happy to help provide an excuse to use your new splitter. If you need help finding reasons, let me know.


Thank you for buying a Boss, it's about time!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Miles's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"An inexpensive necessity!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Craig C.
Battle Creek, MI
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 11/24/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Beast!!
Worked like a champ, right out of the box.

I have split approximately 1 cord thus far. Now to change the fluid.
Craig Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Craig,
Hi and thanks for the review. You probably don't need to change the fluid just yet. We suggest once every hundred hours or so. If you have any questions, please feel free to let us know.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
32
Eric P.
Monticello, IN
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 11/13/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good
just received my splitter.....first shipping and price (compared to others on web) was awesome!!!thank you log splitters

as far as Boss splitter....used it for about 3hrs so far.....work pretty good.

all logs split were green....handled 90% of them with ease. some of the larger logs with knots did give it some trouble...but most times you could split logs by shaving off sides first and whittle away at the log giving you trouble.

not near as powerfull as my 30 ton gas splitter....but for... more
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Quiet, one handed
Eric Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Eric,
Thanks for the great review and yes it does have some limits because it is only a 7 ton but used properly it is a great little work horse.

Ron
Boss-Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Ivina H.
Fountain, FL
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 10/24/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Log Splitter
I have been using it a couple weeks now, and it has worked great - no hick up's at all. I split my last year season and fresh drop trees with no issues. Great product.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Durable, Features
Ivina Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Ivina,
Thanks for the great review and buying a Boss!

Ron
Boss-Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jack H.
Chicago, IL
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 8/23/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Machine
I bought the Boss 7 ton log splitter and four way wedge. I have finally had the time to split mostly seasoned and some green logs. Using the single wedge, the splitter easily split logs 10 inches in diameter. There were some green logs up to 10 inches in diameter that stopped the splitter cold, but that was expected.

I put them off to the side and will get to them when they’re seasoned. I noticed that the four way wedge would slide up when splitting logs and thought about drilling and... more
Jack Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jack,
Hi Jack, and thanks for the review. You are spot on! If you would like a pdf of the labels feel free to let us know. We have yet to find a way to get them to stay on when the machine is built to work and do the job that it does. We are considering other placement, but the body seems to be the best choice for the moment. Other machines don't have the same issue because the ram/cylinder movement is inside the frame. The 5 and 7 ton machines have the ram cap and shaft which slides over the stickers, and once we get some slivers in there, it does tend to attack the labels. We are working on it.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jake S.
Holland, MI
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 8/29/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Like It!
Great little machine. No problems? Just keeps splitting.
Jake Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jake,
Thanks for the review. If you ever have any problems, please feel free to let us know.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Henry G.
Monroeville, PA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/13/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works As Advertised!
Having bought another make of splitter two years ago (that is as long as it lasted), I switched to Boss Industrial looking for an upgrade. I was not disappointed.

Much better workmanship, single hand operation and an operator's manual that is extremely useful -- all of which the other brand did not have. For a few bucks more, the Boss is well worth it!
Henry Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Henry,
Thanks for the great review, glad we could help you upgrade.

Ron
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jeffrey S.
Missoula, MT
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/2/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Pleased!
Never owned a log splitter until last month. For value I gave 4 stars because of only having it for a short time.

Always used splitting maul to hand split 4 cords of fir and lodge pole in the fall. My elbows were really taking a beating. Thought I would have to spend $1500 to $2000 for a decent gas splitter. Researched "best electric splitters" and decided on "Boss 7 ton".

Was told electric splitters wouldn't cut it by local outdoor equipment merchant. Glad I... more
Jeffrey Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jeffrey,
Thanks for the review. Feel free to go tell your local outdoor equipment dealer how great your electric log splitter is!

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Gerald R.
Santa Fe, NM
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/8/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No Exaggeration With This Splitter.
I received my splitter within 5 days. That impressed me first. The machine came in full working order and only had to attach the power handle. I've only used it for one and a half hours so far, and it has met my highest expectations. I had to try re-positioning a couple of Russian olive logs with large knots a couple of times.

These logs were 12 to 14 inches in diameter, along with most of the logs I was splitting. This is an impressive little workhorse and so far, I am glad I took the... more
Gerald Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Gerald,
Thanks for the review. Happy to see how impressed you were with both our machine, and the customer service (shipping) that Log Splitters Direct provided.They are a great group of people!

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Richard D.
Chamisal, NM
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 8/13/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Should Have Bought One Years Ago.
This machine is solid, stable, and does the job with ease. I split mostly pinion pine, which is hard and has twisted grain. Twelve inch diameter logs were no problem. However, I do cut my logs to fit my wood cook stove, which is a 15 inch length.
Richard Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Richard,
Thanks for the review. I am glad we are taking care of those Pinion Pine knots and twisted grain for you. If you ever need us, just let us know.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John Collier
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael W.
Bryson City, NC
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 7/29/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Pleased
Two chords split and not any issues. Split all types of wood and very pleased with results. Can't handle knots very well but disposed of everything else.

For two chords a year, it is a solid purchase and I have enjoyed the benefits of being able to pull it out quickly and split for a while and easily store it away. Plan on building yourself a table to put it on.....
Michael Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Michael,
Thank you for your review. We are glad you are pleased with your purchase. If you ever need us, please feel free to let us know.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Laurier L.
Westbrook, ME
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 5/17/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Larry
I'm not a big believer in buying product online, but my experience with purchasing this product was excellent. Also, the wood splitter has exceeded my expectations. I would highly recommended it.
Laurier Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Laurier,
Thanks for your review. I know that the people at Log Splitters Direct are fantastic and very knowledgeable on our products. I am glad you had such a great experience with both them and our machine!

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Brian M.
Colton, NY
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 5/24/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Hi
Easy to use, and does what I need to get done.
Brian Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Brian,
Thanks for the review - short, sweet, and to the point!

I will keep my response the same.
Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Ronald L.
Ewing, NJ
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 5/17/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ease Of Use
The Boss 7-ton splitter worked fine. It split a cord of wood in about 3 hours, including stacking. Only 3 twisted pieces would not split. And this was green wood-oak I believe. Very happy with this product.
Ronald Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Ronald,
Thank you for your review. Only 3 pieces out of a cord of Oak....I'll take that any day over a maul or wedge and hammer!!!

Thanks for buying a BOSS!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Richard C.
Crandon, WI
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 5/9/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
31
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Little Problem Solver
I am getting to old to swing the maul anymore and this little machine just stepped right up and took care of that problem. It works very well and is easy to move from place to place.

I have used it frequently since i received it two weeks ago and at this point our summer campfire wood, hunting cabin wood, and tent stove wood for winter camping is all split and drying. It makes life easier and stores in less space than the snow shovel. Just wished that I would have found it sooner.
Richard Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Richard,
Thank you for the review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your view with others. Nice to know that in less than 2 weeks you have all of your "required" wood splitting completed. Now I guess you will just have to do some for FUN!

Thanks for buying a BOSS!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
James S.
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 5/5/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Tough Little Machine
I live off grid and have been running this wonderful machine with sun power. The surge when starting is too much for my system and I need to have the generator running to start it. After that it can run all day without a problem.

I've split 18 inch straight grain Hemlock with ease. Large spruce logs need to have strands separated with a hatchet.

I found that the bolts protruding past the nuts are the same threads as the handle and make a good place to store it.

Bottom Line. I am very... more
Pros: Price, Durable, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations
James Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
James,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all of them!

If you have any questions, please let us know.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
William
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 2/28/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
03
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine!
Worked right out of the box after following directions on how to prep and operate it. Was very surprised at its power. Split most wood with no problems. Some wood with knots it would not split though. All in all I was very impressed. Split about 2 cords of wood with very little effort. So far so good. Love this machine, takes a lot of labor out of splitting firewood.
William Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
William,
Thanks for the review. I have found that if you point the knots up and away from the wedge they split a bit easier and more often! However, you will find some that twisted up inside a bit more than others. Glad everything is working out for you.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
John F.
Delta, UT
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 4/1/16
REVIEWED
APR.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Machine
I recently bought a Boss ES7T20 seven ton splitter after quite a bit of research. I put it to work right out of the box and I was really impressed with the ease of operation. It's a very powerful splitter for it's size and quick. The only drawback was how high it stands. I looked at your extension kit and read the reviews and noted one review that the legs for the wheels were not far enough apart and it tipped rolling on rough ground.

I came up with my own idea and made my own extensions... more
John Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
John,
Thanks for the review - Send us a photo of your modifications. I would like to see what it looks like.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
John's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I was very happy with Log Splitters Direct. You have a very good web site and expert advice when deciding what to buy. The shipping was great also. I would highly recommend you to my family or friends. Thanks."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Kim R.
Lees Summit, MO
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 3/30/16
REVIEWED
APR.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
I was really surprised by the small size versus how well it split 18" to 24" Oak logs. Very satisfied with this purchase.

It is light and easy to move around. I did get the extended legs to raise it up to just below my waist.

The only thing I would change is the lever to start the split. I would like a longer lever to make it higher.
Kim Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Kim,
Thanks for the great review. I am glad that it exceeded your expectations.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Randall C.
Greensboro, NC
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 3/26/16
REVIEWED
APR.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Stronger Than I Thought
First I want to say that the delivery was right on time and much faster than I thought. Next I was very impressed with the power of this splitter. I just use it for relatively small jobs so I can't say how long it will continue to impress me but so far I'm very impressed. I've easily split 12 inch dried poplar and some other dried logs that were even harder. I've also split dried oak and sweet gum without any problem. I am impressed!
Randall Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Randall,
Thanks! We know we build good machines - but it is nice that customers are happy to tell others that as well. Currently our 7 ton is over 50% of all electric log splitter sales on this site. If you add in our other 3 models people are ordering a Boss Industrial Log Splitter 3 out of every 4 machines! Now that is saying something about our quality, and our dedication to our customers.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Randall's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Really like the product and have nothing but positive thoughts about Log Splitters Direct."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Reed K.
Oakdale, MN
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 3/23/16
REVIEWED
APR.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
North Woods Cabin
Very pleased with power and quality,works better than I hoped.
Reed Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Reed,
Short and sweet! Thanks for the review, and thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Debbie R.
Westlake, OH
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 2/26/16
REVIEWED
APR.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worth Its Weight In Gold!
This is my first year of having a wood burning fireplace in my home. I have a fireplace insert that holds smaller wood and I was too afraid of splitting the wood with an axe. Found The Boss Splitter online and sounded exactly what I needed!

It's the best investment I've made in awhile! Splits wood with ease and it's actually fun! Now I don't have to call my sons over to split my wood for me which makes them happy too! lol
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Expensive
Debbie Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Debbie,
Thank you for the review. I am really happy you like the machine, maybe not as much as your sons though! If you have any questions, please feel free to let me know.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Kathy P.
Canton Center, CT
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 3/13/16
REVIEWED
APR.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Happy 60 Year-old Farm Wife
We heat with wood, and I'm the wood-gatherer for the family . We have a heavy duty splitter already which works fine and I use for the really big diameter stuff but for the smaller diameter pieces I was interested in getting a smaller, lighter version that would run effectively on electricity and would be more easily movable by hand from place to place conveniently.

I am entirely happy with the Boss Industrial horizontal model E7ST20 splitter. It's perfect for the smaller logs and it... more
Kathy Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Kathy,
Thank for for the entertaining and appropriate review! I really enjoyed the cough/pull/pull/die scenario you detailed. It is on point, and one reason our electric machines sell as well as they do!

As for the oil plug, we use thread sealer on the plugs at the factory. We have learned that people are very touchy about an oil leak on a brand new machine. We try to make sure there are no opportunities for a leak, so we apologize if the employees may have eaten an extra helping of "Wheaties" before they tightened up your machine.

If you have any questions or need anything, please feel free to let us know.

And...thank you very much for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Kathy's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Clear information, easy ordering."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Stephen K.
Reidsville, NC
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 1/9/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Home Electric Log Splitter
This log splitter has worked very well. It replaced one I purchased from Home Depot, which broke down several months ago.

I had some initial problems with a minor shimmy when the carriage had moved 3/4 of the way to the splitting wedge. I emailed the Boss company and the next morning a very knowledgeable pleasant employee was on the phone to me.

I had emailed my business phone number but had not called the company. The company got back to me before I got around to calling them myself!... more
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Store, Great Customer Service
Stephen Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Stephen,
Thanks for the review, and thanks for mentioning our customer service. We try hard to stay on top of any customer call - no matter why you may be calling. If you need anything else, please feel free to let us know.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Sharon R.
Philadelphia, PA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 2/9/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
03
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Item I Purshase
The boss is everything it said it is and much more. I was scared to purchase this or any log splitter. I am a female & love this item. I had lost several trees with one a large cherry tree. I had trouble on my first try , but then found the right way to place logs on the machine.

It said you can use a table but I think the ground is best, always block your wheel & keep plenty of room around your cutting area as some pieces will flight off n hit somethings or somebody. (Above 10 feet... more
Sharon Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Sharon,
Thank you for the review. If you ever need anything please feel free to let us know.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Meredith R.
Deary, ID
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 2/9/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Boss Industrial 7 Ton Electric Log Splitter
This Log Splitter is an excellent log splitter. It far outdistances its description and our expectations. We have used both longer and thicker logs than suggested, mainly larger thicknesses.

Most of our logs were tamarack and averaged about 12-14 inches in diameter. It certainly handled those around 10 inches in diameter, and had no problem a little bigger. we even tried diameters of 15-16 inches with no problems, even wet or dry. We believe this log splitter is a great log splitter.
Meredith Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Meredith,
Thank you for the review. We always have to be careful when we put log size expectations on our machines. I am glad you have found like many others, that this machine, really is the Boss!

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Meredith's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Excellent log splitter fast delivery no problems with this log splitter."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Thomas S.
Whitehall, MT
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 1/30/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Like This
Although I only used this once so far I was impressed how well it functioned. It ran smooth and was very efficient. I wasn't sure how it would handle larger logs, however some of ours were about 12" and it seemed to split them fine.

Since then, I ordered the 4-way splitter but haven't had the opportunity to try it yet. Also no hard starting engine to mess with and gas to deal with, nor noise - nice and quiet. If there was one thing I would recommend, it's that it could maybe use a... more
Thomas Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Thomas,
Thank you for the review. If you ever need anything from us, please let us know. You are welcome to change the tire size, but make sure you keep the front end level, so the oil doesn't run out the vent plug during operation.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Barry C.
Dover, MA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 1/20/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worth Buying !
I purchased the Boss 7-Ton electric splitter approx 14 months ago. Have used it 18-20 times at my home, my cottage, sister's house, and friend's house. The machine has worked tirelessly, great performance, not a single issue with it and have split 14 or 15 cords of hardwood, mostly oak, maple, and hickory. Although advertised at 15 amp, I blow breakers if I don't go to the 20 amp circuits. Overall extremely pleased with the unit.

A side benefit is being able to cut thinner pieces of wood,... more
Barry Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Barry,
Thank you for the great review. We appreciate all of them, but we sure do love 5 Stars!

If you ever need anything, feel free to let us know.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Brett T.
Perrinton, MI
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 1/18/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fantastic Tool
Change the oil before you even turn it on. Then run for a hour then change oil. The factory oil is terrible smelling and looking. Then it will split up to 18 inch oak and ash. Sharpen wedge, oil bar and split away, wow great tool.
Brett Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Brett,
Thanks for the review - we appreciate the 5 stars.

If you have any questions please feel free to let us know.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Douglas M.
Colorado Springs, CO
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 1/11/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Amazed
Only word to describe is amazed !

Been using wood heat for years and love it. Sorry propane guys -

But getting it usable can be a problem.
A bullet proof electric log splitter could be the answer.

Looked on Amazon for a simple answer and found electric wood splitters for around 400 bucks.
But - made in China - no thanks.
Saw another similar for little more made in USA but - 2 to 3 months delivery - no thanks.

Went to Log Splitters Direct and saw same splitter at same price... more
Douglas Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Douglas,
Thanks for the review. Glad you are happy.


As always...Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
James S.
Portland, OR
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 1/9/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Well Powered
Split knotty juniper and splitter performed better than some reviews indicated. Return time is long, but the price was right and it ends the hand splitting of kindling for my wood fired hot tub.
James Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
James,
Thank you for the review. glad you feel you got your moneys worth! If you have any questions or need anything, please feel free to let us know.

Thank you for buying a Boss!


John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
James's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Worth every penny!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Tom
Mechanicsville, VA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 1/1/16
REVIEWED
JAN.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Am Impressed
Never wanted a gas powered splitter. Too much effort to keep maintained. Saw this and read the reviews and took a chance. I am old and have bad knees so I built a stand for the unit to sit on (20 inch height) and seems to be perfect. I put a ramp on it to roll the heavier logs to the machine. The actuator handle is at a comfortable height.

I had a crew take down 3 oak trees that were dead/dying and have been splitting them with no problems!!!! The "loggers" were not too... more
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Tom Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Tom,
Thanks for the review. I really enjoyed the part about "impressing" the work crew. If they buy one, let me know. I love referral stories.

I will also ask engineering about a possible spot to weld on a security ring for you. Just be careful not to leave it out in the rain - electric motors and water don't mix too well! Contact me directly and I will let you know what I find out.

If you need anything else, please let us know.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
www.boss-industrial.com
800-780-2677
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Anna S.
Batesville, AR
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 12/13/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It
Had to have neck surgery and was unable to split my wood anymore. Your wood splitter really saved me. I can still have my wood for heat.
Anna Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Anna,
Thank you for the review. Sorry to hear about the surgery, but we are glad that we could help out with splitting your wood. If you ever need anything, please let us know.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
James M.
Blair, NE
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 10/22/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
More Power
I have split about 4 cords of fairly hard wood so far. This electric splitter has worked quite well. Better that other comparable splitters. The small amount of extra money I paid for this piece of equipment was well worth it. Now, to see how long it lasts. I usually get around two years out of a splitter. Well worth the money.
James Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
James,
Thank you for the review. We appreciate all of them. If you ever need anything feel free to let us know. I am confident this is going to last longer than 2 years for you.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Orlando L.
Green Lane, PA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 11/11/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
31
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Powerful For Electric
I wanted something smaller and quiet because I only need to split downed trees that I have in my wooded acres. This Boss is great. It will split larger than advertised logs if the are not green or soaked. Easy to use and quick. Sure beats splitting by hand.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Easy To Store, Light Weight
Cons: A Little Low Wish It Stood A Bit Higher
Orlando Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Orlando,
Thank you for the review. We appreciate all of them. If you ever need anything feel free to let us know.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Orlando's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Site is user friendly and packed with reviews for products good and bad."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael H.
Hebron, KY
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 1/10/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Hard To Get Service?
Called service first day using splitter left message a week has gone bye no call back.
Michael Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Dale, the Log Splitter Expert
Product Expert
Michael,
If you don't hear from them soon, you can always give us a call. We'd be happy to help you get a hold of them.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Michael,
Feel free to call, or leave your name and number on my extension. I am happy to help with anything you need. We have been hit with the flu this month, so I am not sure where you have left any messages, but call me, I will step in.

Thanks for Buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
800-780-2677 ext. 301
more
Was this review helpful?
-10
Doreen R.
Seaford, NY
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 1/7/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
02
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Boss 7 Ton Electric
I bought one and it had problems. Ok a rep sends me a new motor and I replace it. Not the problem. They have me send that one back and pay for another and claimed when they received the first machine they would refund my money.

Well they got the old one and signed for it Jan 20, 2015. It's February 2nd, and they still haven't done a thing. They claim they are too busy. They weren't too busy to charge me. So their word means nothing. Be careful when dealing with them.
Dale, the Log Splitter Expert
Product Expert
Doreen,
We apologize for the delayed refund. We will deal with the manufacturer later and get you taken care of first. Your refund of $499.99 has been issued to your credit card. We appreciate your patience.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Doreen,
Thank you for the opportunity to respond.

Let me start by saying we are sorry for your inconvenience.

To explain to readers: when contacted by this customer, we had a tech try to help trouble shoot the problem. We offered to pay for shipping this machine back to our location for repair - free of charge as we did not have a repair facility nearby. The customer said they threw away the packing material, even though we were told this machine failed one hour after receiving it. The customer said there was now no way to package it, and would not obtain packaging materials.

Based on the techs recommendation we sent a replacement pump free of charge, and offered to send a replacement motor as well when that didn't fix the initial problem. Customer did not want to perform the suggested part replacement, and with no shop nearby, we needed the machine to come back for repair.

In an effort to get the customer up and running, and provide a way to send the unit back unharmed, a new machine was purchased and sent - with a refund being promised by Log Splitter Direct once the machine was returned and inspected by Boss Industrial. We did receive and sign for the machine, and I will admit there was a few days delay in the inspection process as our tech was tied up with a backlog of customer product assemblies.

That being said, the machine was inspected, and after the hydraulic pump pressure was adjusted, now works like a champ.

In the end, the paperwork process between companies was completed, the customer has a brand new machine along with an extra hydraulic pump, and the refund was issued by Log Splitter Direct as promised.


Perhaps another company would have just let the log splitter be shipped back unprotected so they could deny the warranty claim? They could have charged for shipping and repair of the machine once they found out it was just a pump adjustment, and not a factory defect? Would they have sent a bill for the extra hydraulic pump? Boss Industrial didn't do any of those things, we just made sure she had a machine that worked!

We will continue to work hard, and find ways to improve our customer service, and I hope that others can see the value and dedication in our efforts.

Thank you for buying a Boss, and again, we are sorry for any inconvenience!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
230
Max D.
Columbus, IN
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 12/25/13
REVIEWED
FEB.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Heavy For Such A Small Item. No Cheap Light Weight Parts Here.
Very nice log splitter. Can't shake my golfers elbow, so this thing is saving my arm. I'm 5'5", 145 pounds, and with some effort I can load this thing up behind the seat in my extended cab S-10. I took it to my dads where he had a tree taken down. It split all but some huge pieces we had.

I can split wood in my basement or garage, where it's warm, without sucking in exhaust fumes. I love this splitter,... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Max Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Max,
Thank you for taking a moment to post a review, they are helpful for other consumers as well as the manufacturers. The 7 ton is more portable than the 10 ton at about half of its weight, and the 10 ton may not fit behind the S-10 seat without taking the log trays off, so maybe the 7 ton was the way to go "Tim". If you ever have any questions feel free to give us a call.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
190
John P.
Fairfax, VA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 8/31/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
08
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best 7-ton Splitter On The Market
I went with the Boss 7-ton because it is the most powerful splitter you can buy that will run on a standard 15-amp home circuit. Never tripped the breaker, even on tough logs.

This tool is built very solid with an easy, one-hand operation. No cheap parts! The splitting wedge is razor sharp, not like some of the blunt ones I've seen. I split in a couple hours a pile of wood that would have taken a full day of back breaking work to split by hand. Only pieces it wouldn't split were knotty oak,... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, Price, Reliable
Cons: Bad Instructions
John Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
John,
We Agree! This is the best on the market today. However, I think more people will take your word for it, since I am a bit biased!
We do try to make sure people know to open the vent plug before use, and feel we do a better job of communicating that now. Reviews like yours also help as a reminder. You posted some great information and it is appreciated. I am sure it is valuable to other consumers as well.

Thank you for buying a Boss!


John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
191
Ken M.
Sacramento, CA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 5/12/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
05
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Wonderful Website, Mediocre Machine
Looking for a log splitter:

I started thinking about a log splitter when I had several cords of wood ready to split this year. After looking around on the web, I figured out that Log Splitters Direct had the best web site by far. Having ALL of the features, specs, and reviews on the site were a big help. I had considered the 10 ton BOSS splitter, but decided against it when I read that a 20 amp circuit was required. No other web site mentioned this little detail that would have cost about... more
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Quiet
Cons: Poor Design
Ken Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Ken,
Thank you for your review. I have already responded to your other review on the legs about the wider base, but I thank you for that one as well. In this case though, I would like you to call me at the office. There is a pretty simple valve adjustment that you can make if the machine is not producing enough power.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
800-780-2677 ext. 301
more
Was this review helpful?
130
John F.
Southampton, MA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 6/27/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
02
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
I was interested in an electric splitter because of the quiet operation. I selected the 7-ton model as the biggest available for a reasonable cost. This works great. it handles logs well, and I have only had a few knotty ones which it could not split. It's perfect for a homeowner.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Reliable, Easy To Store
John Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
John,
Thank you for the review. If you run into trouble splitting a log, try rotating it about 90 degrees to get away from the knot. You can also try flipping it over and letting the pressure hit it from a different direction. If all else fails - start splitting around the edge so that you shape the log like a stop sign. This allows the log splitter to push the wedge into a smaller section of wood. Same technique can be used for splitter larger logs too.

Thank you for buying a Boss!
John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
120
Paul S.
Belton, TX
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 10/3/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
06
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Boss 7 - Ton Model # Es7t20
Looked at all reviews. Bottom line--Boss Had the most positive reviews out there. I believe because of the popularity, it did take a while to get it but definitely worth the wait. Splits all of our woods with no problems. With Boss having a 2 year warranty you know they have a great unit. With the 1 handle control, you can steady the logs with the other hand if needed. It's heavy and sturdy. GREAT UNIT!!
Paul Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Paul,
Sorry about the shipping delay! You must have bought while we were back ordered, as we typically ship out any orders received before 2 PM on the same day. Perhaps there was a mix up and we did not notify Log Splitter Direct of the back order situation? Regardless of the fault, I do apologize and hope you are happy for many years to come with your new Boss!

If you ever need anything please do not hesitate to contact us.

Thank you for buying a Boss,

John
Boss Industrial
more
Paul's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"There was an e-mail the order was sent. After a couple of weeks, I called to find out why the shipping was taking so long. They realized they made a mistake by sending out the e-mail. Had to wait several more weeks to get the product. I did know these units were on back order. Still the wait was worth it."
 more
Was this review helpful?
121
Carl D.
Aubrey, TX
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 12/10/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Pleased With My Splitter
I knew nothing about wood splitters and fell onto the logsplittersdirect website by accident. It was a huge help as I read many reviews different people had written. This is my first review to write but I feel I need to since I read so many other helpful reviews.

I purchased the Boss 7 ton electric splitter. It came fully assembled just as the reviews had said. I actually changed what I wanted based on reviews of another brand that was difficult to put together due to confusing... more
Carl Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Carl,
The online reviews and customer feedback you are providing are what allow Boss Industrial to compete in a tough market. Our log splitters are not advertised as the low price leader - but you get what you pay for! In this case, we try to give you a little more than you pay for! One handed operation is one of our strong points. Many of our competitors sell the two handed operation machines, but in our opinion, that can be dangerous. If a log is not steady or if you have to bend in a position where your face is close to the log splitter it can end up bad. Have you ever had a log "pop" from the pressure of a splitter where splinters and pieces of wood come flying out? After you see one, you will be glad that you can use one hand to either steady a log or protect yourself from any trouble. Always were safety glasses and a good pair of gloves when splitting wood.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Carl's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Logsplittersdirect was a great site to read and learn about splitters. It was extremely helpful"
 more
Was this review helpful?
90
Ilene W.
Mcgregor, MN
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 1/8/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Amazing Splitter
I am a 65-year-old woman, and splitting wood by hand is impossible for me. This electric splitter is extremely easy for me to use.

It is quite heavy to move around, but not impossible. Most people have been surprised how such a small splitter could work so well.

I am very satisfied. I just hope it lasts for quite a few years.
Ilene Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Ilene,
I am pretty confident that it will work for quite a few years! If you run into any trouble, please feel free to let us know. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.


And...thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
70
John W.
Lexington Park, MD
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 10/31/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
25
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Not Off To The Best Start
The unit was to be shipped within 5 to 7 business days. It was shipped in 14 days and required a phone call as to the status.
I have had a gas powered splitter for many years. I decided to get an electric model now since I split just small amounts of wood for occasional fires. This splitter takes some adjustment.

It's cycle time seems so much longer than my previous gas model and the splitting force is so much less. You won't be splitting many tough logs with this. Also the log pusher... more
John Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
John,
Thanks for your review. I know the demand for this machine is very high, and I believe Power Equipment Direct may have been out of stock for about a week or so, which probably caused your delay. They are usually way above average on customer service, I am sure this was just a minor glitch due to demand.

The 7 ton is a great machine, and although it isn't going to provide the same power as most gas units on the market, it will get the job done that it was designed to do.

If you have any questions on the machine, please feel free to let me know.

Thanks for buying a Boss!


John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
51
Michael P.
Willis, MI
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 12/7/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
02
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Might Be What Was Claimed
Well, the shipping testimonials are right-on. I received this thing within two days of placing my order, so I know that cost them monies they don't brag about.

As far a the unit itself, just what you've read assembles in about two-minutes. Opened the pressure valve, and started splitting wood.


I received nine face-chords of split wood that would not fit into my medium-sized stove and so can't testify as to what this unit would do with twenty-to-twenty-four-inch logs but seems strong... more
Michael Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Michael,
Thanks for the review and I look forward to you upgrading it to a 5 star review once you split a bit more wood. I also appreciate you explaining how easy it is to start using our machine right out of the box. We do ask that you connect the operating handle because we don't want it to get damaged in shipping. We try to ship out orders the same day we get them if it is before 2 PM. We appreciate you taking note of how hard we work to provide quick delivery and great customer service.

Thank you for buying a Boss.

John
Boss Industrial
more
Michael's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great experience thus far."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
William W.
Sarasota, FL
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 3/4/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
I wanted a log splitter for a while and finally ordered the BOSS 7 ton electric. It arrived on the scheduled delivery date and as heavy and well built as advertised The hydraulic fluid was a little low out of the box, which was no big deal but unexpected, just topped the fluid off and began splitting logs.

After a couple of sessions I decided to order the leg set as the machine is a lot easier on the back with the higher legs. Next thing to do is to make the wheel modifications because it... more
William Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
William,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all customer feedback.
We are glad the machine is working out so well for you. It is one of our best sellers. We are looking at changing wheels, but in order to keep the units compact, easy to ship, move, and store - it is a tough call for the perfect fit for every customer. We are trying to find that happy medium.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Paula H.
Troy, MO
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 12/16/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Husband Was Surprised
I gave this to my husband for Christmas and he was skeptical that it would have enough power to do the job. After trying it out he was pleasantly surprised at how well it worked.

The only adjustment he will have to make is cutting the pieces a couple of inches shorter than he sometimes does. Your site was very helpful in making my decision and getting the best price for the quality I wanted.
Paula Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Paula,
Thank you for the review. We are glad your Christmas present was a hit.

Thank you for buying him a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Barry C.
Dover, MA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 1/20/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Solid Splitter!
Dropped a 50' Oak a month ago, logs were 18" long and up to 16" in diam. This splitter is POWERFUL, went thru logs I didn't expect it to. It hesitated on a few, but those had large knots - turned them around and took them down too! Also allows you to make thinner slices or larger splits if desired. Nice option to have.
Heavy, solid, well built. Only thing I would change is location of power cord/can get in way of falling logs.
Would definitely buy it again, very impressed.
Barry Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Barry,
Thank you for your review. We are glad you were impressed, and that it split up the logs you didn't expect. Here's a tip for you - run your power cord under the motor and between the wheels. It will help keep it out of the way of falling logs. It should also allow you to walk freely on either side of the machine without tripping on an extension cord with a log in your hands.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Barry's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Have shared the url with my outdoorsman friends."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Mike C.
Fowlerville, MI
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 3/6/15
REVIEWED
APR.
19
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Model #es7t20
I used a DR 6 ton electric splitter for almost ten years. I split about 10 face cord of wood a year. The DR never missed a beat in all that time. Finally, the hydraulic pump housing broke and stopped me cold.

I bought the Boss because it was a 7 ton and reasonably priced. When the unit arrived it was much cheaper looking than the old DR.

After using it only a few times, the top metal tubing bent. The unit still works , but does not have the splitting power of the DR. Recently, I found... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Mike,
Thanks for your review. I would like to know what bent, and under what circumstances. We are always looking to improve our product, and if you can contact us through our website or at the office, I would like to know more about the bend.

There is also a pressure adjustment screw if you feel the machine needs to be turned up a notch. Based on our Craigslist sales for our dealer demo units, you shouldn't have much trouble if you do wish to sell your Boss. Let me know if you need any help.

Thanks for the review and thank you for buying a Boss.

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Brent S.
Lewiston, ID
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/3/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
07
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Investment
I did extensive research on log splitters and saw several reviews on different sites about this particular splitter and they were all very positive so I bought one. It was a great investment I got it fast unpacked it it was basically assembled I think all I had to do was screw on the wood handle for the control lever it is very sturdy and well made and it does an excellent job splitting it split a lot of wood in a short period of time some very big and tough.

I have no complaints at all... more
Brent Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Brent,
Thanks for the review - but I have one correction, it is made at our factory overseas. I don't want to mislead anyone. It is a great design, and well made. All parts and warranty issues are handled out of our Chicago Suburb office in Naperville, IL.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Mark R.
Hinsdale, IL
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/14/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
26
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Boss 7 Ton
Overall satisfied with unit. The claim of 10 inch logs is a stretch unless it is straight grained and not green. No way it gets through a stringy wood like elm. 7-8 inches tops.

For me the 100 pound weight of the unit lets me muscle it up on a table or cargo bay. That was the trade off for me vs more power. and needing a second person. I would recommend it for clean up and reasonable sized wood
Mark Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Mark,
Thanks for the review. I am surprised you are having trouble with any wood under ten inches - we can usually do more than stated. I know that longer extension cords and poor electrical supply can cause power loss, as well as fluid levels. I would like to speak with you about the machine, because this 7 ton usually doesn't have any power issues.

There is also a pressure adjustment screw which we can adjust if its still not performing as it should. We are close to Hinsdale - only in Naperville, so we would be happy to take a look and show you around the machine.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Bruce P.
Sprague, WA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/30/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
50 Years Splitting Wood
Great splitter so far. I like one-hand operation. Also split a locust stump that my Dr six ton couldn't split.
Bruce Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Bruce,
Thank you for your review. Let us know if you ever need anything.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Richard T.
Crystal, MI
REVIEWED
APR.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Super Strong. Very Surprised.
I bought this a year ago and did not do a review. But I am so impressed with this log splitter that I had to tell everyone about it. About 3 months after I bought it, we had some VERY strong winds at our cottage which sits in a 10 acre woods. It blew down 5 or 6 very large and very hard oak trees. This splitter split everything I threw at it. If I could pick it up and get it on the splitter, it split it.

I am very impressed and the friends that helped were also very impressed. Do not... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Richard Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Richard,
Thank you for the review - sorry about the wind damage to the property, but I am glad your Boss stood up to the test! If you ever need anything, just give us a call.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Stuart B.
New Albany, IN
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 3/30/15
REVIEWED
APR.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Is For Real!!
I at one time had a 22-ton gas splitter that worked great when the engine did not gum up. The last straw was when it took 30 pulls and the engine did not start. The engine was just junk, so I sold the whole thing for parts. First of all, I just wanted something that started, and did this when I needed it.

My Honda tiller had no issues. I was almost ready to drop $400 on a Honda engine. This is when I hesitated and thought how often did I use the gas splitter. Not to often, so this is where... more
Stuart Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Stuart,
Thank you for the review. Happy to hear that it tackled your gnarly Oak too. If you ever run into any trouble or need us for anything - feel free to contact us.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Stuart's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Keep selling good products."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Lana T.
Norris City, IL
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 3/4/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
07
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Boss 7-ton Splitter
My husband has been wanting a log splitter for some time. I decided to buy one for his birthday this month. Since I don't know anything about them, I searched the internet for information, brands, etc. I found that Log Splitters Direct had the most information, more splitters to choose from, videos, and great reviews.

We received the splitter yesterday, only took 2-day shipping, but decided not to use it until today when it was about 45 degrees. It was easy to take out of the box, all we... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, Quiet, High Quality
Lana Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Lana,
Thank you for the review. Glad everyone is happy with the machine. If you ever need anything, we are here and ready to help.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Lana's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"We will review again after we have used it for a season."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Wilfred L.
Melbourne, AR
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 2/11/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Can't Beat This With A Stick
I've had electric splitters in the past, and this 7-ton splitter even suprised me. It's 7 tons of power. My last one wouldn't break rail squares from the lumber mill, but so far the Boss takes care of them.

And as far as fire wood, 15 dollars per truck-load for the blocks of wood is way cheaper for heating the house than 50 dollars per Rick for a truckload of regular split wood. Thanks Boss Industrial.
Wilfred Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Wilfred,
Thanks for the review. Glad to know we surprised you! Looks like you found a firewood supply loophole too. Nice job.
We also appreciate you mentioning the customer service being awesome. We agree!

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Wilfred's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Customer service is awesome."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Mary W.
Allenwood, NJ
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 10/5/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great
Bought this for my husband for his birthday after reading ALOT of reviews......so far no complaints, easy to set up, a 'nice little tool' per my husband:)
Mary Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Mary,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate it. If you ever need us, please feel free to let us know.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
11
Edward R.
Pittsburgh, PA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 2/17/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works As Advertised. Very Good Quality
Having used the Boss 7-ton splitter several times in the last 8 months I'm happy with decision to purchase this model. It's easy to use and doesn't take up too much space in the garage. There are limitations as to the size of the logs it can split and that is documented in the description. Most of the wood I split is Ash with diameters under 10 inches.

The splitter was delivered ready to use. Just read the instructions as there is only one thing you have to do to ensure proper operation. ... more
Edward Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Edward,
Thanks for the review - if you have any questions or need to contact us, please feel free.

You can register your warranty online if you have not already done so.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Edward's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast delivery. to my address. Ready to use in 5 minutes!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
11
Mike K.
London, OH
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 10/20/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
12
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Choice
After cutting more than 10 huge ash tres down and cutting up into manageable sized pieces of logs, I decided to buy the Boss 7 tonner. There is not one log that it has not split with ease.I was able to split most of the wood in 3 days time...I would definitely recommend the 7 ton. Why spend 1000 or 1500 when this little Boss does it all. After using I checked the Hydraulic Fluid and topped it off with maybe a 1/2 cup of fluid. I would recommend this to anyone who needs a quality splitter at a... more
Mike Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Mike,
Thanks for the great review. We appreciate all of them!

If you ever need anything, please feel free to let us know.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
11
Roland B.
Sanford, ME
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/23/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine!
Older man ,just can't split wood well anymore. the Boss is really great, quiet & powerful. had some 2 yr. old maple butts 14 - 16 inches wide. went through them like butter. Only complaint is where the power lead goes into the power box. needs to be metal & have a protective shield.
Roland Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Roland,
Thanks for the review. We are looking at the cord connector to see how we can modify it. We appreciate your feedback.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Dave E.
Verona, PA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/21/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
04
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Boss Splitter
Need to relocate the switch.

The first day a log hit the wire coming out of the switch and broke the plastic that holds the wire. Needs to be reversed.
Dave Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Dave,
Thanks for the review. I will submit the idea to engineering to see if it can be improved. We always appreciate suggestions from end users.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Ryan P.
Alta, WY
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/21/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
23
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Splitter Is Great...boss Customer Support Is Not
Love the fact that with Log Splitters Direct I was able to compare all the splitters, read reviews and compare prices. Made my shopping very easy. The splitter arrived two days after ordering, super fast shipping even to Wyoming! Opened it up, read the manual and 10 minutes later was splitting wood with ease. About 3 days later and about a cord and a half split, there was a big puddle of hydro fluid on the ground.

A welded seam on the main body which also holds the hydro fluid had developed... more
Ryan Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Ryan,
I was out of the office at a trade show last week, and a few days before that as well. Doesn't matter who you spoke with, or when though as I am happy to have you reimbursed for any weld repair that was needed on one of our machines. Please contact me directly with your mailing address and machine serial number. I will track down your photos and make sure there is a check in the mail to you.

Our customer service is one of the main reasons why people love Boss Industrial Log Splitters. Get a hold of me directly, and I will get this fixed up, no problem.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
800-780-2677 ext. 301
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Lucjan S.
Stone Mountain, GA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 8/24/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
18
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Great Toy
A great toy. Works as advertised.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Quiet, Reliable
Cons: The Screw Could Not Be Turned With The Supplied Hexagonal Mwrench
Lucjan Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Lucjan,
We appreciate you taking the time to share and send in your review.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Lucjan's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"A great toy. However, the supplied hexagonal wrench could not turn the screw that, apparently, was over-tightened. I will ask for a warranty repair when time comes to change the fluid."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Tim C.
Eagan, MN
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/24/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
18
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
The 7-Ton Boss electrical log splitter splits logs with no hesitation and at a rapid rate. Very satisfied.

I also installed the extended legs to raise it further off the ground which makes it more comfortable to use. I believe the extensions to the legs need a little more work to give them a wider base to make the unit a little more solid.

All in all its quiet, one less gasoline motor to mess with, it has plenty of power even with large green logs and except as noted above for the... more
Tim Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Tim,
Thank you for your review. We are working on trying to open up that wheel base as you suggested.

We appreciate your insight and taking the time to share.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Lloyd B.
Hornsby, TN
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/24/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
4 Way
Got the 4 wait look like a toy but was heavy. It works great and saves time in splitting a small log up in forth
Lloyd Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Lloyd,
Thank you for the review and we love 5 Stars!

As always - thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Lloyd B.
Stantonville, TN
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/24/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Boss 7 Ton
Got it 3days after ordering it. Took it out of the box and wanted to test it out. Try a 15 inch piece of red oak and it split it . try a piece with knots in had to try it 2 time one from each end. So far has split everything it is a little slower than a gas splitter. Well worth the money.
Lloyd Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Lloyd,
Thank you for the review. If you have any questions or need anything, feel free to let us know.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Scott G.
Boise, ID
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 10/11/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Nice Strong And Quiet
I reviewed many log splitters to buy my first one and this 7-ton Boss splitter interested me several ways. I have used many log splitters over several decades but most are large noisey messy machines that have smelly exhaust. But that is the curse of the gasoline motors, electrics are thought to be weak but will surprise many hard core splitters. I needed a strong splitter that is affordable, easily maintained and small enough to be stored almost anywhere.

Price,strength, cycle time, and... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Store
Cons: It Came About A Quart Low On Fluid
Scott Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Scott,
Thanks for the review!

Actually, you want to keep the fluid level at or near the bottom line. The top line is where we will the machine before testing at the factory. Once we cycle the machine oil gets into the cylinder and drops the level to the lower line.

You should be fine as long as you are near the bottom line. If you fill it to the top line again, you will end up pushing oil out your vent plug.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Ritchie K.
Livingston, TN
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 8/9/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
31
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Back Saver
shipping was so fast an unpacking super easy this is a real work saver.split over 1 1/2 cord oak an maple in about an hour. 12 inch rounds also . i wish wheels were larger which i will change out later.

So far great product at a fair cost and free shipping a best buy as were in our 60s an have no wish to swing a 10 lb maul any longer!
Ritchie Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Ritchie,
Thank you for the review. We are happy to help save your back!

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Frank R.
Milford, MA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 8/1/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Is The One To Get
I first purchased the Powerhouse 7-ton splitter which I had to return (you can imagine how difficult it was to box up and move!) because it basically did not work properly. PED was excellent throughout the ordeal. I decided to give the Boss splitter a try and I've used it three times without a problem. I had occasion to contact Boss Industrial and their salesman/representative called me directly with advice. (when does that happen?) First class all the way!
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Price, Durable
Frank Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Frank,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate each and every one.

I am very happy to hear that PED stepped up and helped you with your product return, and even happier that they recommended you try a Boss Industrial machine. I am glad you now have a machine you are happy with, and if you need anything, please feel free to let us know.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Frank's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Bob was great. I originally purchased another product that did not perform. Bob advised me concerning what alternative product I should consider and it works great! A top notch organization."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Don E.
Lake City, CO
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 7/26/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
20
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Very Impresed
The splitter is easy to drag around short distances. It functions smoothly, quietly and efficiently. I was pleasantly surprised at the power splitting rounds of Spruce and Aspen even with diameters exceeding 15". I did a lot of research before settling on this splitter and have not been disappointed. Delivery took only 2 days to very rural Colorado.
Don Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Don,
Thank you for posting your review. Very Impressed usually rates 5 Stars - I would like to know if there is any reason you only gave it 4?

If you need anything else - feel free to let us know.
Thank you for buying a Boss!
John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Brian S.
New Berlin, WI
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 7/16/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Impressed
First let me say that I did not expect this machine to weigh as much as it did, IT IS HEAVY. I am very glad I got the extension legs, as it put the working area at a great standing height. Highly recommend getting the extensions.

This machine split both dry and unseasoned wood (about 2 weeks cut) with really no problems. I know I did logs larger then 12" in diameter all in short time. I could not imagine having to do this by hand. I would have had a heart attack!

It does what they... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Heavy
Brian Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Brian,
Thanks for the review. We are glad you like your new Boss Industrial 7 Ton.

Just do me a favor, and make sure you have permission before you start taking down the neighbors trees so you can split more. I am sure without too much effort you can find folks that would be more than happy to have you and your splitter stop by!

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Keith T.
Arnold, MD
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 7/13/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product!
I have a wood fired pizza oven and needed to split the firewood, more than what a standard cord is split (for a fireplace). Did some research....very glad I chose the 7 Ton (vs the 5 Ton)...well worth the extra few bucks (IMHO). It is easy to operate, fast cycle times and stores easily.
Keith Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Keith,
Thank you for the review. Glad to know that after you did your research you ended up with our 7 ton. It is a great machine.

If you ever need anything feel free to let us know.
Thanks for buying a Boss,

John
Boss Industrial

PS Large cheese, sausage, mushroom and onion for delivery please!
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Bruce N.
Dillon, MT
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 7/9/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pleased With Purchase
Only time will tell, but my first impressions are that I bought a machine that is well put together with quality materials. However, buyers should be aware that the power cord, where it enters the control box, is protected by a plastic fitting that is vulnerable to breakage as split logs roll off the carriage. Not covered by the warranty, Boss has nonetheless promised to replace the fitting. Impressive service.
Bruce Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Bruce,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate it when you take time to share.

The new connector was sent out last week, we always try to do the right thing where customers are concerned.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Mark H.
West Wareham, MA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 6/22/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Boss Splitter
I researched half a dozen, small electric splitters, and Boss seemed to get the best reviews. The splitter shipped promptly, and all I needed to do was take it out of the box and open the thumb screw before getting down to business. It worked great, splitting four cords of pine in two days.

My only complaint is that the wheels look a little under-sized, and the splitter was shipped with hydraulic oil that didn't meet the minimum line. However, upon calling the seller, he said the... more
Mark Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Mark,
Thanks for the review.

The only remark I will make, is that the unit will run fine without additional oil being added. You do need hydraulic oil in it for it to run.

Glad we were able to help you get through all that Pine, let us know if you ever need anything.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
00
William R.
Woodville, TX
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 5/27/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Exceeded Expectations
Works like a champ. I had no experience with electric log splitters, but this one really does the job. Easy to move around and get started. I have been using it for about two months now and have had no issues. The only thing I had to do extra was add hydraulic fluid (wasn't shipped full).
William Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
William,
Thanks for your review. We appreciate it. We are so glad that you are happy with our 7 ton machine, and that we have exceeded your expectations. If you ever need us, please feel free to let us know.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Frank G.
Park Falls, WI
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 6/7/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Looks Like A Toy But It's A Workhorse!
I have split approximately 6 face cords of Yellow Birch, Sugar Maple and Poplar since receiving this product. Overall, I am pleased with this purchase but Boss could make a few changes to make a good product even better.

1) Improve your shipping and packaging materials - they are presently marginal to protect the unit from the beatings that shippers dish out. 2) Improve the quality and size of the wheels 3) The actuating valve length is a killer for senior knees and backs. A ... more
Pros: Price, Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Store
Cons: Packaging, Unsure Of Long Term Reliability - Hydraulic Pump Getting Noisier, Shipped Low On Hydraulic Fluid-had To Fill Before First Use, Needs 3 In Add'l Ram Travel To Completely Split Logs
Frank Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Frank,
Thank you for your review. I will forward your suggestions on to the tech team for review and possible integration. If you have any questions or concerns, feel free to let us know.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Frank's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Received splitter two days ahead of schedule - very fast service!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Michelle B.
Davison, MI
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 6/9/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product!
I purchased this Log Splitter for my husband as a Father's Day Gift. He has rhuematoid arthritis and a herniated disc in his back. Splitting wood by hand took it's toll on his back and body. After reseraching several products I went with the Boss. We have a fire nearly every night through the summer, and often times throughout the winter, so we use a lot of wood. He was very skeptical of the electric log splitter, and didn't think it would work. I have to say he was very pleasantly... more
Michelle Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Michelle,
Thank you for your review. We are glad you made the choice for him. If you ever need us, feel free to give us a call. Don't forget to register your warranty on our website - www.boss-industrial.com.

You can also LIKE us on Facebook for product updates and offers.

Thank you for buying a BOSS!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Michelle's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The site had enough information to help me make an educated decision without a mad search on the internet. The best price I found as well."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Thomas P.
Springbrook Twp, PA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 5/18/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Gets The Job Done
Just as advertised. Right out of the box, splitting wood in 5 minutes.
Thomas Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Thomas,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate every customer that takes the time to do share their experience. If you ever need us, feel free to let us know. Please take a moment to register your new splitter online at www.boss-industrial.com. You can LIKE our Facebook Page, or Follow Us on Twitter for company information and product updates.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
Was this review helpful?
00
James
Galveston, TX
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 4/9/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Thing Will Split Some Logs
This is a 7 ton model. There are some logs which just bind up and it will not split. That is by far the minority of cases. Just worked all day Saturday and stacked two big, mean stacks of wood. Can't use it on logs over 20.5 inches. It is heavy, but the wheeled cart is easy to pull around. Had no trouble moving it around the pile, never a fuse problem. I bent over all day and the old back is squeaking today. Would like to put it on a sturdy bench or table. All in all, I am very... more
James Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
James,
Thanks for the review, glad we could help with your splitting. Just to let you know - we do offer a stand to elevate the machine off the ground to ease some of your bending. You would need the FT-5 for a 7 ton machine.

If you have any other questions, please feel free to let us know.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial
more
James's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"quick and free shipping says a mouth full. Thank you."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Charles G.
Williamstown, NJ
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 4/7/15
REVIEWED
APR.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Split This
Works as advertised, easy to take anywhere.

Works great. One cord of wood split already.

I would recommend it to any homeowner.
Charles Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Charles,
Thanks for the review. We appreciate all of them. If you ever need anything, feel free to give us a call.

Thanks for buying a Boss,

John
Boss Industrial
more
Charles's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Already have recommended to people. Easy to use website, and fast service."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jose S.
Pearl River, NY
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 11/17/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wonderful!!!!
Better than anticipated. Strong motor. I'm very very happy. Easy to operate.
Jose Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jose,
Thanks for the review, we appreciate it.
If you need anything, please let us know.

AS ALWAYS:

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Jose's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast delivery. Well boxed."
 more
Was this review helpful?
01
James E.
Forest Lake, MN
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 8/31/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Boss 7-ton Splitter
This is an amazing splitter. It has split everything I need to split. I have pushed it beyond its limits, and it keeps on splitting. I love this light-weight, easy-to-move splitter. I thought I would try to save some money by buying this @ Amazon because it was $50.00 cheaper, but when I went to check out, it was only $15 cheaper after tax and shipping and I had to wait 3-4 weeks to get it, so I bought it here at Log Splitters Direct and got it in 3 days.

Now that was well worth the extra... more
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Durable, High Quality
James Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Dale, the Log Splitter Expert
Product Expert
James,
Thank you for sharing your experience. Best wishes, and have a happy holiday season!
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
James,
Thanks for the review! We appreciate you taking the time to post. If you have any questions, or need anything, feel free to let us know.

Thank you for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
James's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great site - lots of good info."
 more
Was this review helpful?
01
Sharon P.
Allison Park, PA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 11/16/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
07
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Boss
I bought for my father. He loves it.
Thank you.
Sharon Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Sharon,
Thank you for the review. I hope your father enjoys it for years and years to come. If you (or he) needs anything, please feel free to let us know.

Thank you for buying him a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
01
Jeff B.
Petersburgh, OH
REVIEWED
DEC.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Splitter 4 The $$.
This being the second splitter I have used, I am happy with my 7-ton boss, I use it for 10-12 diameter logs, splits great, have not had any issues with it. I sell a few face cords a month, and it is holding up well.

I wish the wheels were a little bigger. didn't want to buy a gas splitter because of size and weight. This Boss splitter works great for me, I use mine on a table or tailgate of my truck, which makes it so much easier when working.
Jeff Recommends This Boss Industrial Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jeff,
Thanks for the review, I appreciate it.

If you need anything, we are here to help.

Thanks for buying a Boss!

John
Boss Industrial, Inc.
more
Was this review helpful?
01
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Boss Industrial ES7T20 electric log splitter reviews.Compare our Boss Industrial ES7T20 ratings. Find the Boss Industrial ES7T20 electric log splitter that is right for you.