Search
< Back to Product

Earthquake W1200 Electric Log Splitters Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$299.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$299.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$299.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$352.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$352.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Earthquake W1200 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
3.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (5)
Price (4)
Quiet (3)
Easy To Store (2)
Durable (1)
Cons
Durability (2)
Unreliable (1)
My Experience They Are J... (1)
Low Quality (1)
I Would Like To See High... (1)
63% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
25 Reviews  Sort by 
 
John
Morgantown, WV
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
FEB.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Floor Model Deal For $100 Bucks
I purchased this from Sears as/is for $100! I thought what do I have to lose. The first load was 4 cords.That was in one day I didn't have a problem at all once I developed a system. Total I have split about 16 cords with it. The only problem is when it gets below 40F.

The hydraulic fluid isn't heated up enough. So get your wood split before it snows!! It's a great deal for a homeowner who burns a few loads a year! No gas to deal with and if you buy and it doesn't work for you take it back!... more
John Recommends This Earthquake Product
Dale, the Log Splitter Expert
Product Expert
John,
The wonderful thing about electric splitters is that you can use them inside a garage, barn, or even in your basement. There's no gas, no combustion, and no fumes, so it's actually safe to run indoors.

So while the cold will thicken the hydraulic fluid, you can thin it back out by bringing it into a warmer environment and using it there. Best of luck staying toasty warm the remainder of this winter, and we look forward to helping you out with your log splitter needs in the future.

Thanks for sharing.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Dan Baird
Pickerington, OH
Total Helpful Votes
22 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
19
2012
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Earthquake Electric Log Splitter 5 Ton
I ordered the Earthquake Electric Log Splitter Nov. 1st, 2010. I used it in Dec. 2010, Jan 2011 & Feb 2011. I didnít use in Dec. 2011, because itís been unusually warm this winter.
So I only used it in four different Months. Just long enough to be passed the 1 year waranty.
It popped the left hand guide nut and BENT the hydraulic shaft while splitting a log.
Got a note back from Mfg. The unit is out of waranty. Itís warantied for 1 year from purchase date. They do have a refurbished unit... more
View Image
Was this review helpful?
228
Jeffery B.
Muskegon, MI
Total Helpful Votes
57 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
13
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Great Buy; The Manual Needs Work
I bought this because I needed an indoor splitter for the garage. I got it yesterday (2/12/2013).

I read all the directions and checked everything, even all the bolts to make sure everything was tight. All was good. I went to split my first log and the motor would not start. Turns out I blew the breaker on the splitter.

I had to let cool down, tried again- and again blew the breaker. In the operating instructions it says you have to use both the controls at the same time, which is what... more
Was this review helpful?
573
Michael G.
Marquette, MI
Total Helpful Votes
18 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
15
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Bought It Last Week
I didn't need a large splitter at my cabin and tried this. It split threw a cord of wood some of which was 14" diameter. It never seemed to even strain.
I fear that I haven't used it enough yet to comment on reliability. Because of other reviews, I will be checking the ram bolts.
I guess I also recommend users to make sure to use a 12 gauge cord.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Store
Michael Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
180
Tom L.
Shafer, MN
Total Helpful Votes
16 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
28
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Does The Job For Me
Like others, I found the instructions were not too good with a little improvising needed to install the few parts required. Put it together today and used it to split seasoned Elm up to 10" diameter. Worked fine on stringy Elm. So far I would recommend this product for small scale use like fireplace wood not exceeding 20" long and 10" diameter. Gloves and eye protection are a must. Important tip: let the motor rev up to speed before engaging lever. This allows full power... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Easy To Store
Cons: Bad Instructions
Tom Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
160
Dale
Deltona, FL
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 1/2/13
Total Helpful Votes
18 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JAN.
24
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Shakey Start Strong Finish
Following the instructions, I put the knob on the hydraulic ever and stripped that. Mounted the wheel assembly and the holes were off 1/2"Loosened all the bolts and got it lined up and the hole was per-stripped.Mounted the handle and one hole was filled with paint.After one hour I put it to the test.A piece of green oak,8" in diameter and 12' long.

Failed at a hundred lbs, shipping it back was out of the question.Got some help and took a smaller bite out of the chunk.It worked but... more
Was this review helpful?
182
Ron
Great Falls, MT
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 8/7/12
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
09
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Impressed
I am impressed with these splitters, this is my second one only because I wasn't paying attention and a bolt came loose on the ram and bent the shaft of the first one.

I fully intend to fix this as soon as I have time.

Again, thanks for producing an excellent product for the money.
Was this review helpful?
120
Gary
Trafford, AL
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 12/13/12
Total Helpful Votes
13 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JAN.
07
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Splitting Logs At Home
I haven't had a chance to use the log splitter much, but so far it is perfect for what I will be needing.

We have a small wood-burning fireplace and live in a rural area where wood is available.

I was happy with the ease of which this particular splitter operates, and the logs are the size that fit well into the small insert in my fireplace. My wife bought this as a Christmas gift and it will be the gift that keeps on giving!
Was this review helpful?
132
Jody
Racine, WI
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Bargain!
Great bargain!

It is well made, and easy to move and store. Quiet operation.

Very impressed with the power and ease of operation.

Should have had one years ago.
Was this review helpful?
100
Darrell
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/10/12
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
13 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
02
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Steady Machine
This machine is heavier than it looks- and the instructions for putting it together are pretty bad. Yet upon completion it works wonderfully well and is exactly what we were looking for: an electric log-splitter that fits in the garage to split the bigger firewood.

I was doing this with an axe; this is much, much better. I should have done this when the firewood was delivered.
Was this review helpful?
90
Timothy D.
Staten Island, NY
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 11/26/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
18
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Tim
Very pleased with this electric log splitter . Price was good, cheaper than Home Depot. I like the fact I do not have to worry about gas and fumes, also is nice and quiet. For my purpose this log splitter served me well. Keep in mind I only used it once this season so far. So as of right now I have nothing negative to say about this log splitter. Customer service was fine . Also free shipping and arrived within or about 7 days .
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Quiet, Reliable
Cons: None
Timothy Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
70
Grizz E.
Sterling, VA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/28/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
20
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Nice Machine
This is the first log splitter that I have had, it splits all the wood that I have tried on it: oak, cherry, holly, and hickory.

It splits thru knots and y's; the only thing I would change is to paint the bleeder valve red and to put a warning sticker on the control panel to remind the operater of this.
Was this review helpful?
71
Jack Mcc.
Livonia, MI
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 6/25/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
17
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Machine
Awesome machine. Power to split logs was impressive. This log splitter was more than my expectation.

I thank all those who gave an honest review that persuaded my decision to buy the Earthguake W1200. I am totally satisfied.

If there are any negatives to report it would be that the wheels are too small for my liking. But, they are functional and it didn't stop me from moving it over rough ground.
Was this review helpful?
60
Jay E.
Baltimore, MD
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 1/19/12
REVIEWED
FEB.
14
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Earthquake Log Splitter
My dad is a real mountain man he lives in cumberland md mountains heats his home with wood he split with an ax

he's getting older has electric now so I got him the earthquake splitter

I was worried that it might not split some wood being a smaller splitter but it works great saving my pa hours of work and its easier on his body

I think this splitter gives a lot of bang for the buck and recomend it -thanks so much
Was this review helpful?
60
Larry S.
El Paso, TX
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 7/19/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
20
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Logsplitter
It is a really good machine for around the house. I would recommend it to others.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Quiet, Price
Cons: Durability, I Would Like To See Higher Grade Bolts To Put It Together
Larry Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
95
Buster G.
Killeen, TX
REVIEWED
DEC.
17
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Very Disappointed - Probably Okay With Soft Wood
I was very disappointed with this machine. The instruction manual was almost useless. Doesn't tell you have to read the dipstick if oil is needed. If I screwed the dipstick all the way in to get a reading, it showed to be overfilled. If I just dipped the dipstick without screwing it in, it showed to be a little low.

I didn't want to add oil since I had already made my decision to return it. I read all the reviews before purchasing and thought I would give it a try. I previously owned... more
Buster Does Not Recommend This Product
Dale, the Log Splitter Expert
Product Expert
Buster,
We are sorry to hear of your disappointing experience with your Earthquake log splitter. You best option would to contact Earthquake directly and let them know of your experience. I'm sure they would appreciate the feed back. Earthquake can be reached at (800) 345-6007.
more
Was this review helpful?
53
Max
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 10/9/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
03
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Good
Works good.

Thanks.
Was this review helpful?
42
Dan
Cedar Hill, MO
REVIEWED
JAN.
19
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Boiler Fodder
Works great. I split a half cord in no time. The only problem was a twisted piece that would not split, but it was a bit LARGE!

A good bargain to feed my outdoor boiler.
Was this review helpful?
31
Antonio Hardy
Henrico, VA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 8/7/10
REVIEWED
AUG.
29
2010
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
A Lot Less Work
It took about 5 days for my log splitter to arrive. I put it together and started to use it, and I split a quarter cord of wood in no time.

It does has its limitations though- it won't split wet wood. The craftsmanship leaves something to be desired, though. You can tell where the two metals meet on the splitting wedge, no telling how long it will last.

But it did cut my work time in less than half. Some logs I have to split myself, and then use the splitter.

I should have got the... more
Was this review helpful?
42
Richard Holland
Canandaigua, NY
REVIEWED
SEP.
14
2012
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Earthquake Splitter
I purchased one for a friend and it failed after 1.5yrs, I called the company for parts and NO parts were available.
I then took it to a professional shop, they also called the company and the response was and I quote " the mechanic on the other end laughed and said, tell him to go buy another one". The shop I took it to said they could tear it down and mic the parts in hopes they could find them but the cost was beyond the value of the machine. Worked ok until it broke.
Was this review helpful?
78
Steve Roberts
Sudbury, VT
REVIEWED
NOV.
03
2010
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
It Works, But When It Dies I'm Buying American
Well, when you spend this kind of money for a log splitter, you shouldn't have great expectations...and I didn't. The system this splitter uses for actuating the ram is very inconvenient. You have to reach over and hold down a button then use the other hand to actuate a lever and hold both of them until the splitting cycle (which is VERY slow) is over.

Having said that, if you have a lot of wood to split (or re-split in my case) it's a real pain. I have since hooked up a foot switch for the... more
Was this review helpful?
67
Leo
REVIEWED
SEP.
25
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Power Switch Bad
The power button went bad and I can't get one from the service department.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price
Cons: Can't Get Starter Switch
Leo Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
1214
Matt K.
REVIEWED
NOV.
19
2012
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Dangerous Design
One hand on the on button the other hand to operate the cylinder. your face is right in the splitting area. Pop the log just got your face.. I changed mine to a foot operated switch, I would not recommend this product.
Was this review helpful?
612
George
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/18/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
02
2012
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
5 Ton Or 5 Pounds?
I was very disappointed with this machine. I was trying to split 10" logs that were 3 to 4 years old and it wouldn't do it, 1 or 2 swings with a maul and they were easily split. Maybe I just got a lemon.
Was this review helpful?
29
Ken E.
Panama, IL
REVIEWED
SEP.
16
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Junk
Will never buy another Earthquake log splitter, not a good quality product.
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Durability, My Experience They Are Junk
Ken Does Not Recommend This Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Ken,
Please contact our customer service department at 1-800-345-6007 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM Monday through Friday so that we can help you resolve the issue.

We have more than 1700 service centers around the United States, and we are committed to making your experience a positive one.
more
Was this review helpful?
721
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Earthquake W1200 electric log splitter reviews.Compare our Earthquake W1200 ratings. Find the Earthquake W1200 electric log splitter that is right for you.