Search
< Back to Product

Powerhouse FX128-Z Electric Log Splitters Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$399.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$399.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$399.00
(as of 06:27 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
 
$394.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$399.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Powerhouse FX128-Z Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (28)
Price (15)
Easy To Store (12)
I'd Buy It Again (11)
Exceeded Expectations (10)
Cons
Bad Instructions (15)
Low Quality (4)
Packaging (4)
Unreliable (4)
Durability (2)
83% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
137 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Dale, the Log Splitter Expert
Log Splitter Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
36 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
962 Helpful Votes
Log Splitters Direct Recommended

The Powerhouse FX128-Z will split logs up to 20 long and 12 in diameter. The diameter may vary based on type of wood and its moisture level (length of time its been cut). When the weather turns cold you can wheel it indoors and split in comfort. You may damage the pump if you operate in temperatures below freezing. Keep it dry and above freezing and you should have trouble-free splitting for years to come.

You will need access to a 120 volt 20 amp circuit to power this splitter due... more
Dale Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
73
Wayne
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/30/14
Total Helpful Votes
29 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
OCT.
22
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Wood Splitter
I was skeptical about an electric splitter since I only used a gas powered one before. I tried it because I didn't like the noise, heat and fumes of a gas engine. I was pleasantly surprised at the ease of use and the low noise level of the electric one. There is a size range for the splitter which was a problem for my large pieces but that is common for all splitters.

The work went extremely fast. I made a connector for the dual control handles so I could easily press the lever with one... more
View Image
Wayne Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
294
Eugene S.
Bonita Springs, FL
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 1/22/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
FEB.
16
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Pretty Nice Little Unit
So far I like this splitter because it is small yet powerful. However, I would really like to learn how to defeat the need for two handed operation which is stupid!

And clearly less safe than one handed operation. I haven't used it enough to rate the product yet. Ask me to rate this product in a year. This program wont let me submit unless I rate, so therefore I will rate low until I use the product for at least a few months.
Was this review helpful?
00
Susan J.
Voorheesville, NY
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/27/14
Total Helpful Votes
11 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Love This Thing!!!
I absolutely love my wood splitter. I have a camp and have had many trees taken down and hate to see them sit and rot. There is no way I could split them by hand.

First of all, the shipping was free and delivery was right to my door (in the woods). Setup was very easy and the wheels make it so easy to move to the work site.

I love this because it seems so safe compared to chainsaws and hatchets. Being electric is certainly easy.
You load the log, pull the handle and SLOWLY the plate... more
View Image
Susan Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
115
Henry S.
Arlington, VA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 3/24/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Kapow, It Splits
I've been using a 24-ton log splitter with a pretty fast cycle time, but I wanted something around the house to take the chunks down to smaller sizes for the wood insert and to split up a whole bunch of kindling. So, I got this unit for the garage. It's pretty handy, it has definitely split the wood. It took a little getting used to how it kicks out the pieces when it splits. I finally figured out why it does that. The wedge on the unit flares out at the end, so it progressively pushes more... more
Henry Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Henry's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Logsplitters delivered on time felt sorry for the FedEx trainee kid who carried this unit on his shoulder."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Steve F.
Kalispell, MT
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 7/20/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
31
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
All The Power I Need
I bought this splitter to replace my speeco 5 Ton. It would kick it self out frequently and I was restarting all the time splitting fir and larch. No problem power wise with FX128-Z. BUT, what a useless setup with the two hand hydraulic system.

I did not use the machine until I modified it for one hand hydraulic operation, also improved the air bleed screw and added 20" bicycle wheels and tires for easy moving.
Steve Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
10
David L.
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 7/7/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Powerhoiuse Splitter Works Great
I like the size and ease of moving and using the splitter.
David Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Van N.
Burtonsville, MD
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 1/18/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent
I received my splitter within 4 days after I placed my online order. I am very, very happy with Log Splitters Direct and my splitter. I set it up near my fireplace in my family room, split the wood, and really enjoy with flame. Highly recommend and sure buying again when needed.
Van Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
10
David S.
Pine, CO
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 11/8/13
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
APR.
14
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Don't Buy This One
It died after 2 seasons. Took it to a repair house any they would not touch it.
Dale, the Log Splitter Expert
Product Expert
David,
I'm sorry to hear about your troubles with Powerhouse. This splitter carries a one year warranty. You may contact Powerhouse at 503-575-9407.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jill M.
Am, WA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 1/3/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
07
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Works Great
When I unpacked the machine, the front brace was hanging by one bolt. The other bolt was embedded in the Styrofoam packing material and the lock nut was no where to be found. I had another nut that fit, but the bolt had been stripped so took a little to get the nut on. As in previous reviews, the instruction manual (looks like poorly photocopied pages) was really bad on the directions to install several of the pieces. The parts list didn't match everything that I had in the box.

Upon... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable
Cons: Bad Instructions, Packaging, Assembly Coming Apart In Shipment
Jill Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Jill's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Ordered the machine on Sunday asking for it to be delivered to another address. Received a phone call on Monday just to verify that I had bought the machine and asked for it to be shipped elsewhere. As soon as I verified that, the equipment was shipped and arrived in a timely manner."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
James S.
Erie, PA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 11/22/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Super
Very pleased with size and function of logsplitter.
James Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
03
Jerry A.
Bohemia, NY
Total Helpful Votes
38 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
07
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Not Repairable
After having this unit for 2 years in need of repair. Unable to get it serviced in my area. Call customer service, they sent me picture of what they think is the problem--their tech is in China- told parts center will contact me after 2 weeks no contact -keep e-mail them no answer.
Cons: Bad Instructions, Low Quality, No Repair Center Available In Long Island --poor Customer Service
Was this review helpful?
383
Nick F.
REVIEWED
JUL.
29
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not Worth The Money!
Splitter arrived, instructions useless, came with extra "O" rings and a bolt loose in the box with NO mention anywhere as to what the parts were for. Split less than a cord when Hydro oil started to spray out. Called phone number on instruction sheet. Person said I would get response by email. NO response, now calling the given phone number, message says "Number not is service". Am filing dispute with credit card co. I used. This splitter is a foreign made piece of JUNK!!!!!!
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Bad Instructions, Durability
Was this review helpful?
343
Christopher H.
Longmeadow, MA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 3/27/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Despite Some Reservations On Its Outward Appearance...
I've held off on writing a review until we finished our yearly wood splitting for the winter, because I felt after going through 6 cords of wood that this would be a more representative review.

When the splitter arrived and I took it out of its packaging I have to say I was certainly not blown away by it outwards appearance. Between the welds, the plastic handles and just the general cosmetic appearance, it certainly didn't look like our previous splitter (DR 5 ton). All that being said, it... more
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Low Quality, Looks Like A Chinese Made Product
Christopher Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Christopher Would Recommend Log Splitters Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"At one point I had called looking for some information on the splitters, and was pleasantly surprised that the owner of the company actually spoke with me directly concerning our needs. I can't think of too many companies that actually have the owner available for customer service !"
 more
Was this review helpful?
170
Ron B.
Little Rock, AR
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 2/16/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
11
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Log Splitter For Weekend Cabin
The log splitter works great and is very quiet. I was splitting some short rounds and they didn't split all the way, so I discovered the best way to do this was to duct tape a 4 x 4 block of wood onto the pusher...so that the shorter pieces would be pushed further into the wedge. That was all it took to get clean splits. This small 4 x 4 was about 5 inches long and gave me the added reach.
Was this review helpful?
194
Gabriele B.
Colville, WA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 8/8/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
25
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Many Questions
I purchased this product because the starter on my gas splitter broke and I had problems getting the part. I am a 73 year old woman who needs to put in four cords of firewood in for winter.

Questions:

What is the purpose of the two handles? When splitting wood, you frequently need one hand on the log! I stuck a wrench between the handles and covered it with duct tape to allow operation with one hand.

Why are the wheels set higher than the barrel of the motor? Makes them pretty... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Light Weight
Cons: Bad Instructions
Gabriele Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Dale, the Log Splitter Expert
Product Expert
Gabriele,
The reasoning behind the two handles is purely for safety reasons and really nothing more. The idea behind it is the hope the operators will not leave any hands in the way of the ram and possible splintering (In some ways you could say it is the lawyers at work!). It sounds like you have made your own adjustments, while we always want to advise people in safety, just be careful.

In terms of the wheels being set higher than the motor, this is something which has baffled us as well here at Log Splitters Direct and unfortunately just seems to be a design flaw which has been suggested to Powerhouse.

If you have any other questions, please feel free to give us a call and we would be happy to assist.
more
Was this review helpful?
131
Steve
REVIEWED
JUN.
20
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Horrible Instructions And Support
I am relatively mechanical but with the instructions that came with the unit, it might as well have been printed in Chinese. Called support and still have not heard back. Took over an hour to figure out how to assemble. Ram doesn't go all the way, need to add 4X4 block to completely split logs.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price
Cons: Bad Instructions
Steve Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
132
Jeff B.
Mesa, AZ
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 12/4/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
13
2012
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Disappointed
I have never owned a log splitter nor have I ever split logs before so I used the guidelines given on this website to help me choose the right splitter and chose this one. Shipping was oustanding and it looked very good when I opened it but when I tried it on seasoned wood that was not very big in diameter or length it would not split one single log I have. I had to ship it to a friends business address so unfortunately I disposed of the packaging or I would send it back. Wish I could figure a... more
Was this review helpful?
122
Steve
REVIEWED
JUL.
31
2012
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Not A Powerhouse
First, let me be clear. I should have been more careful with my selection of this wood Splitter.

Yes, I did a lot of research, sure I read a lot of reviews. But for whatever reason I thought the FX128-Z would be more powerful than it is. Many of the reviews I read gave me the impression that it could do what I needed. (I'm a guy with an average house and a few trees that occasionally fall down.)

Here's the truth: For my needs, it's basically worthless. I had two Birch trees cut down,... more
Was this review helpful?
101
Jim M.
Drake, CO
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 10/19/09
REVIEWED
AUG.
02
2011
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Did Not Last 3 Years!
First the plastic motor connection box broke. Cheap plastic. I replaced it with my own box.
Then last week while splitting logs the ram would not return. Got stuck halfway.
Tried to get help from the company in Oregon. Left messages. Lousy communications! You can hardly hear the guy on the phone when talking with them.
Was this review helpful?
101
Guy S.
Westcliffe, CO
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 8/20/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
11
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Not Powerful Enough
I live in Westcliffe, CO at 9000 feet altitude, the winters last 6 months , and the temperature goes way below zero, so I need a lot of wood to be split the 7-ton horizontal electric splitter does not have the power to split more than 10 inches of log in diameter, and I have to try two times to split the log.

A more powerful log splitter would have been better, and more efficient. The picture in your advertising is very misleading,
ans very deceiving,
Was this review helpful?
80
Rose H.
Turboville, PA
REVIEWED
JAN.
05
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Defective
Purchased as a Christmas present for my husband. He went to use it New Years Day and the hydraulic fluid leaked everywhere. Still haven't received satisfaction from Sears or vendor.
Cons: Expensive, Poor Quality
Was this review helpful?
124
Bruce K.
Glenmoore, PA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 11/13/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
04
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Compact And Powerful
Have had our splitter a short time, but have treated it to much work. It is a powerful little machine. We have split two cords of wood with no strain and no issues. Cannot speak to longevity yet, but we are impressed with the Powerhouse so far.
Bruce Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Bruce's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I was hesitant to order a machine like this from an online vendor. But their website was excellent, the info on the product was thorough and ordering was a snap. Our Powerhouse was actually delivered a week early and with no problems! The small amount of assembly was easily done with simple tools. I highly recommend Log Splitters Direct."
 more
Was this review helpful?
80
Shirley H.
San Ramon, CA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 11/20/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
11
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Electric Splitter
This log splitter exceeded all my expectations. Worked like a charm. Split several logs for approximately 1-1/2 hrs in record speed with very little effort and was amazed by this light weight, easily functioning splitter . I have enough wood split for the next two years.
Happy with this amazing log splitter.
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Exceeded Expectations, Light Weight
Shirley Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
80
Ivan Z.
Seattle, WA
REVIEWED
MAY.
05
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Don't Buy It!
One season after I bought for home use began to leak hydro fluid. At present is of no use.
Was this review helpful?
70
Richard B.
Clayton, NC
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 10/2/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
22
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Little Giant
I cut 6 cords a year so this splitter comes in very handy. It works really well. The only thing I did different from what I see in other reviews is buy a 20 amp 12 gauge heavy duty 25 ft cord, which makes it stronger.
Richard Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
70
James R.
Afton, MN
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/23/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
15
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Ax Will Get Rusty Now....
I am getting to an age where the joy of chopping wood is not a joy any more. So I went searching for a wood splitter. Read reviews and opinions and decided on an electric one. I was totally in the dark. I was going to purchase one for around 7 to 8 hundred dollars figuring the more it cost the better it is.

Then I started reading about the Powerhouse 7-ton, 3 hp Horizontal Electric log Splitter and I was impressed. The price was $400. I liked what I read but what really did it for me... more
Cons: The Wheels Could Be Wider Apart
James Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
70
Eryn
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 7/10/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
31
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Little Log Splitter
This was my first time to buy a log splitter and it has exceeded my expectations.
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Eryn Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
70
Scott G.
Brockport, NY
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 1/9/13
REVIEWED
FEB.
21
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Powerhouse 7 Ton Electric Splitter - Perfect For My Needs
Received my splitter a few weeks ago and got to use it a few times. Am very happy with it. I wanted one I could use in my basement, wasn't too loud, too large, or too expensive. The Powerhouse 7-Ton fit the bill. It was as described in the many positive reviews I read. Very user friendly. Just plug and go. Sure, its not as powerful as a gas 24 Ton, but it is powerful enough for what I wanted it to do. I put a few 18 inch pieces of ash in it and it worked great on these larger pieces... more
Was this review helpful?
70
Lee S.
Searcy, AR
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 3/8/13
REVIEWED
APR.
24
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Log Splitter
I have a powerhouse log splitter set up in my garage to split a few logs at a time. It is very convenient because I don't have to start it or put gas in it. Also, it was inexpensive. I was disappointed at first because it wouldn't split the large Persimmon and Gum logs I have. By cutting the top and bottom of large or snarly logs with a skill saw with a rip blade, however, I have been able to split them. Also, any log will split if you split it along the edge instead of the center. If I... more
Was this review helpful?
82
Carl C.
Franklin, NJ
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 11/29/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
20
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Save Your Strength
10 years splitting with a hatchet it took me tree hours to split one cord of wood, now with Power house it takes me 45 min.
Carl Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Carl's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great company to work with."
 more
Was this review helpful?
50
Laird C.
Battle Ground, WA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 11/11/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
03
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
I have used the splitter and it works very well. if a piece of wood is too big or too heavy, I split it with a maul first and the log splitter does the rest. Makes it easy.
Laird Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Carl S.
Midland, MI
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 1/31/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
22
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
So-so
It will not start when it's cold. One of the log guides broke already. Splits well once it gets running.

Overall, it's a good match. I just don't know why the motor starts so hard.
Was this review helpful?
41
Kevin Q.
Brandywine, MD
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 12/13/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
09
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
7 Ton Electric Log Splitter
Got it, assembled it, and chopped a lot of wood. Works great.
Kevin Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Kevin's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"7 ton electric log splitter works great"
 more
Was this review helpful?
52
David M.
Deep River, CT
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 7/23/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
14
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Little Splitter
Had tried a neighbors electric 5 ton, it worked pretty well. Saw the 7 ton on your website and ordered. Arrived quickly and after minor assembly it was splitting wood. 16"x21" no problem. Larger pieces took a few passes to get through but finally did. Portability is great and to be able to split inside is a plus, worked well off a generator. For the price this is a good buy.
Pros: Price, Easy To Store, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable
Cons: Larger Wheels Would Make It Easier To Move Around In The Woods
David Recommends This Powerhouse Product
David's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Emailed to ask where the hyrdraulic fill port is, got an answer quickly with a page showing the location. Unit arrived in two days from ordering."
 more
Was this review helpful?
41
Howard R.
Afton, NY
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 8/26/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
08
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Choice
This was a good decision to make this purchase. We had a little trouble with the directions but finally got it together. We split about half a face cord and it really did a good job with no problems. I would recommend it.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, Reliable
Cons: Bad Instructions, Packaging
Howard Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Cheryl D.
Charleston, WV
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 6/5/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
26
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Purchase
I was able to cut about a half cord of wood in 3 hours....the hardest part is getting up and loading more wood. A great present from my husband! Not sure why we haven't had before, a great purchase.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Light Weight, I'd Buy It Again
Cheryl Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
30
David
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 12/3/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
26
2012
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
It Works--once I Assembled It From Laughable Instructions
Per other reviews, the assembly instructions are really bad.
I still haven't figured out where the hydraulic fluid dip stick and fill port is or how to open it.
The splitter arrived filled and ready to use.
The email and telephone " no-help" desk never answered either inquiry.
But it works just like it did on the promo video.
It may be easier to use it on a two foot high platform as recommended in the manual but I have not tried it yet.
It slit my test pieces easily.
I... more
Was this review helpful?
52
Ron F.
Yukon, OK
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/30/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
21
2012
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Medium Duty Log Splitter
Delivery was very fast- ordered 10/1, received 10/3.

I split 1/4 rick and noticed an oil leak above motor. User supplied heaver duty O-rings- problem solved. Split the rest of rick, then began making kindling. Oil leak in front of splitter!

Turns out that if you open bleed valve 4 turns per directions, it spits out a little oil. I turned the bleed valve down to 2 turns- problem resolved. Because of the leaks I decided to check the hydraulic oil level. The 2 O-ring seals were absolutely... more
Was this review helpful?
30
Rick S.
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 5/14/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
18
2012
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
An Ok Product
Service was great. Product is OK.

It is certainly powerful enough but after only a couple of hours of use the power levers have started sticking and do not return the piston to neutral unless they are manually lifted. Not sure what the issue is but if it continues to fail this will be a short lived machine.

LSD RESPONDS: This splitter has a 1 year Factory Warranty- please give the folks at Powerhouse a call at (503) 575-9407so they can walk you through some simple troubleshooting steps... more
Was this review helpful?
52
Ed Knight
Placerville, CA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 2/1/10
REVIEWED
FEB.
24
2010
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
More Power Than I Thought
The splitter has more power then I thought, but there are two problems I don't like.

The hood over the power handles gets in the way, and the wheels are too close together; so when you move from place to place the machine starts to wobble and falls over to one side or another.
Was this review helpful?
30
David S.
Pine, CO
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 11/8/13
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
OCT.
04
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Won't Last
I bought this 2 seasons ago. I just died will not work. Cheap made in china. Buyer beware
Dale, the Log Splitter Expert
Product Expert
David,
I'm sorry you're having problems with your Powerhouse log splitter. You may check the hydraulic fluid level, make sure the air vent is open and try plugging into multiple electrical outlets.

If it is not working you may contact Powerhouse at 503-575-9407. Unfortunately this splitter carries a one year warranty.
more
Was this review helpful?
42
Steven N.
Pierson, FL
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 11/6/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It's A Keeper
This is not the biggest fish in the pond but it puts up a good fight. So far I have split about one half cord of live Oak with only the biggest pieces stopping the machine cold (about 12 inch with knots). The rig is so easy to move around and store. I run it off a 15 amp breaker via a 20 ft. extension cord without issue.

Assembly was a snap and the unit came here promptly from PED. The thin metal log keeper rails bent down some I guess because the live Oak is so crooked and heavy, but that... more
Steven Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Daryl C.
Trinidad, CO
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 10/15/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
08
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Powerhouse 7 Ton Log Splitter
Used it twice, and it seems to be fine. A little slow, but time will tell if it's durable.
Daryl Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Elena M.
Carrollton, TX
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 12/11/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
17
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Log Splitter
It splits only very small logs (less than 8 inches in diameter) I wish I bought the more powerful splitter...
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Bad Instructions, Unreliable, It Splits Only Very Small Logs Less Than 8
Was this review helpful?
31
Donna V.
Katy, TX
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 11/17/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
09
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Log Splitter
It works very well. Split all our wood. Very pleased with it. Still waiting for the rubber foot Liz Bolipata was sending.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Durable, Reliable
Donna Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Kaaryn R.
La Sal, UT
REVIEWED
SEP.
17
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Woodsplitter
I LOVE it. I was able to split Quakie very quickly and easy. Harder woods like Pine and Cedar didn't split very well, but that's not a problem, I can cut them with something else. It's perfect for what I need it for. I did put it on a table. The constant bending over was killing my back. I have recommended this to many friends.
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Use
Cons: Splits Soft Woods Only
Kaaryn Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Roger
REVIEWED
NOV.
09
2012
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Works With Small Logs And Straight Grained Logs
Assembly instructions are vague. I assembled it with little problem but it took longer than it should due to inadequate documentation. The documentation talks about loosening the bleed screw before using the machine and tightening it after use. This appears quite important but there is nothing on the log splitter to remind you to do this. The bleed screw is not very noticeable, so all you have is memory to ensure it gets done.

Once up and running, the splitter works well with most small... more
Was this review helpful?
20
Cynthia J.
Murrieta, CA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 12/11/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Splitter In So Cal
I bought my husband a splitter for Christmas. We live in Southern California. He was out there the day after Christmas splitting the pile of logs we have had for 6 years. The splitter worked like a charm. He was amazed. Best present ever. We were hit with 18" of snow, no power for 3 days. So the split wood was used well. Thanks for the helpful chart on which one to buy.
Cynthia Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Angela M.
Stockton, MO
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 12/1/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
26
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Impressive
I bought this for my husband for Christmas and he loves it. It's compact and powerful!! I would recommend this splitter especially for the price, can't go wrong.
Angela Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Dan D.
Harbeson, DE
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 11/29/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
22
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
So Far So Good
Working my poor wife to the bone. She sits at the end and pushes the levers while I load the logs. A few do fall off and hit her toes and cause a few curse words but the vocabulary I have heard before. A good splitter for the money so far. Have split at least 3 cords and have that many more to go.
Dan Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Dennis B.
Porum, OK
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 11/18/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No Splitting Hairs Here.
This is my first log splitter, other than an ax, and I couldn't be more pleased. This unit operates smooth and quick. It's worth every penny.
Dennis Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Andrew
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 11/3/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
25
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
5 Hours So Far, Quite Satisfying
I have used this for about five hours so far and have been able to split all but the most stubborn pieces of hardwood I'm using. It's quiet and runs fine on a standard household circuit. Setup was easy and it's easy to move around. I was worried about the position of the motor, but haven't had any hits to it from falling wood yet. The requirement to depress both handles at the same time would be annoying but it's very easy to do with a foot (which also prevents constant bending over).

My... more
Andrew Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Charles T.
Cleveland, TX
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 10/28/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
18
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Splitter
Live in a wooded area with many trees to harvest. Not a big need for a large splitter. Really pleased with the performance and the ease-of-use of this electric splitter. Good start. Hope it lasts for many years.
Charles Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Larry G.
San Antonio, TX
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 10/5/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
18
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Retire That Axe!
I live out in the country with tons of trees and never run out of work. My Friend got a 5 ton 2 HP log splitter. We put it together one evening and before we knew it we had split all the wood he had and had a blast doing it.

I had been researching log splitters for a while by then. Once I saw how well his worked, I knew I absolutely had to have one. Did more research and ended up with a great deal. This 7 ton 3 HP is great. Would recommend this log splitter to anyone who splits wood. Save a... more
Larry Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Winifred C.
Randolph, WI
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 10/16/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
07
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Our New Log Splitter
My husband says it does the job-he also said it's a little light but for what we paid it works well.
Winifred Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Winifred's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Everyone was very helpful and it came on the day they said it would."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Seth K.
Fairfield, PA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/24/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
16
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Workhorse
Its so easy to use that my wife and son have used it more than I have. I've been splitting maple and pine very easily. Sometimes a 4x4 block is needed to get a little more stroke. We have split about a cord of wood already with no issues. Tighten all the plugs, they come a little loose and seep.
Seth Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Seth's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Quick free shipping on a large product is a huge plus. The reviews and detailed specs made my decision process easy."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
George S.
Wrentham, MA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 10/17/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
29
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Once I Put Lock Washers On The Handle Bolts.
Said it all above.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable
Cons: Put Lock Washers On The Handle Bolts Nuts Fell Off
George Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Anthony S.
Sterling, KS
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 10/22/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
12
2012
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
I Think I Got A Bad One
Less than 1 hour into my wood pile I had hydrolic fluid spraying. I was able to replace an o ring and got it going again only to have a seal fail in hour 2. I need to see what they want me to do. I am not sure how to handle this since it was mail order.
Was this review helpful?
32
Phil
Dayton, OH
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 5/21/10
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2010
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good, But Not Great
The splitter arrived in excellent condition. Packaging seemed to be more than adequate for any shipping abuse. The assembly instructions need to be updated though, because some of what you are instructed to do is already done.

But it's obvious whats left to do and how to do it, so I didn't have any issues.

The two lever design is an excellent safety feature. But, larger diameter and irregular logs will make splitting a two person job. One person to operate the levers and a second... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Gerald R.
Federal Heights, CO
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/30/09
REVIEWED
OCT.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great 7 Ton Electric Log Splitter
I have had this splitter for about three years now and it has never given up on me. I like the electric one because I can do the splitting inside when it is too cold outside. Great little machine for the home owner, maybe not for a business.
Gerald Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Gerald's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Shipping was fast and on time."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Christopher M.
Colorado Springs, CO
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/6/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great!!!
I got it. A little skeptical about a wire splitter. But she's worked better than I expected!!!!!!! I had some huge pieces of wood to split! If it was too big I split little pieces off at a time (help holding it with somebody). Overall great machine. I do hate how low to the ground it is though.
Christopher Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Cornelis V.
Bovina, NY
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 8/12/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Power Direct
I have not yet used it so extensively as to know it well, but it is a well designed machine that performs with ease on many different kinds of hardwood. Glad to own it.
Cornelis Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Rob C.
Battle Creek, MI
REVIEWED
JUL.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great Within Its Parameters
Received the splitter, week of july 13 2015 so far i have no complaints, ive tried to split bigger logs like some of the other customers said they could split, i was not able to, not sure if the logs were to big, or i suck at using it.This is my first splitter, so it could be operator error. But it was easy to set up, easy to use.

I do advise leaving off the cover on the levers, for easier access to the controls, but remember they put the cover there for safety purposes. The wheel base... more
Rob Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Rob's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Super fast shipping!!!!!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Frank R.
Milford, MA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 5/14/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
18
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Great Tool
I used it for the first time last week. The directions were vague and misleading. I think that there are the same directions for several different models?!

Most of running it is common sense, but the manual says to use a certain hydraulic fluid, etc., but there are no "loading" receptacles, etc., it shuts off indiscriminately between splits, but when it works, it's fine. Certainly beats doing it by hand.
Frank Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Francis G.
Warner Robins, GA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 12/18/14
REVIEWED
MAY.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Amazing Tool - Great Value!
I have not yet found a log (oak, hickory, dogwood, pine) that fits in the splitter that it could not split. My buddy and I split a cord of wood while sitting on his front porch to get out of the rain. It doesn't get much easier than that.

More than enough capacity if you aren't running a firewood business. One suggestion - needs some handles above the center of gravity so it is more steady when you have to pick it up.
Francis Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Robert B.
Silver Point, TN
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 2/19/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
12
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect For My Use
This little splitter does everything I ask of it, I have split 10 and 12" Oak and Locus with ease. I have it sitting outside the patio door and I just split wood as I need it for my fireplace....one of the best purchases I have ever made.

NOTE. I wish they would find another shipper than FedX. They don't seem to want to deliver to rual areas that UPS has no problem with.
Robert Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Yazmine B.
Miami, FL
REVIEWED
MAR.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product!
I bought this log splitter to cut some firewood outside my house. I live on a big piece of property, so I figured it would be nice to get one of these. It runs and works great. Was delivered quickly and I am impressed at how well it runs.
Yazmine Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Jerry B.
Romney, WV
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 2/13/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
07
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wood Splitter
when first got it had somewhat of a hard time figuring out how it run but after calling the toll free number and they talked me through things i could ask for a better wood splitter thanks again great wood splitter and the electric part of it would never use a gas one again clean and very quite thanks
Jerry Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Steven
08527, NJ
REVIEWED
FEB.
25
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Don't Buy It!!!
Powerhouse gives you a one year warranty. And the splitter broke in 13 months. Not even 2 cords of wood on it. Works like crap in Temps below 30.. Can't get any local shops to fix it.. going on a monrh trying to get parts from manufacturer and not one person answered the phone. Email all you get is, we will be in touch in 2 days... nothing... as for tech support ...lmfao... They send you videos of them fixing it while they speak Chinese. .. what the heck... so just a warning DON'T BUY... more
Pros: Great Boat Anchor When It Breaks
Cons: Unreliable, Low Quality, Durability, Does Not Work Well In Temps Below 30
Dale, the Log Splitter Expert
Product Expert
Steven,
We are sorry to hear of the negative experience you had with the Powerhouse log splitter you have purchased. Our advice would be to contact Powerhouse directly to let them know. Powerhouse can be reached at 503-575-9407.
more
Was this review helpful?
22
Scott B.
Cedar Grove, TN
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 1/5/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Splitter, Nice Price.
I've finally decided to give up the ax for an electric log splitter. After a lot of online searches, and trips to local stores, I decided on this 7 ton splitter. It arrived in 2 days, and after some minor assembly, wheels, front stand, and control levers, it was up and running.

It has split everything I've thrown at it except a few 10 - 12'' diameter Elm, which can be a bit tough. It blows right through my Hickory and Oak, and the smaller Elm. I'm very happy with it.
Scott Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Edward G.
Deep Gap, NC
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 12/26/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Logsplitter Purchase
It splits anything that is dry and most of that which isn't.

Sure appreciate the customer service.
Edward Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
11
James J.
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 10/16/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
7-ton Splitter
I just used it for the 1st time this week and it worked great. It actually worked better than I expected, esp. on bigger logs! I would highly recommend it.
James Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
11
John M.
Marmora, NJ
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/21/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
13
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wow!!
Being a right mid-thigh recent amputee, I still needed to split wood. Green and aged gum is the hardest of the hardest, but being close to the ground allows me to easily maneuver wood into the splitter. Excellent for my needs.
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Bad Instructions
John Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Bob F.
Solon, ME
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/16/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
07
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Little Giant
I was looking for an affordable log splitter, and was pleased to find this gem!
Bob Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Bob's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Extremely pleased with this log splitter! Making splitting 8 cord of wood a breeze!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
John Hall
Monroe, NY
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 8/25/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
16
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Vast Improvement Over A Maul For Splitting
Have split almost a full cord(4 by 4 by 8) so far. Very easy to use, and I have not experienced any problems. My logs are cut into 17 to 18 inch lengths, and some are more than 12 inches in diameter.
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Bad Instructions
John Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
00
David M.
Cassville, MO
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 8/11/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
01
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Performance Is A Problem
The splitter would not even come close to splitting a log the size of the one in the picture. I had 2 racks of split wood delivered which I knew I would be splitting again for my wood stoves. I have 35 split logs that the splitter would not even crack. Other than that it is quiet and easy to use and move around. Just need more power.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Easy To Store, Quiet
Cons: Unreliable, Does Not Deliver
Was this review helpful?
11
Gary B.
Battle Creek, NE
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 7/5/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Splitter
Performs great for it's purpose, which is splitting firewood.
Fast, powerful, quiet,& small!
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations, Fast
Gary Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Karin B.
Gillette, NJ
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 11/3/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
02
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Strong Small Logsplitter For Homeowner
We needed a reliable log splitter to split the wood from a fallen 100ft Ash tree. I was skeptical, but the Powerhouse 7 ton really performed well. It split up to 16in diameter wood and about 5 cords of wood so far. The advice to use a 4x4 in block to push the log pusher further made it easier to split the wood. The larger pieces of wood with diameter up to 22 inch we split manually in 4 pieces and then the log splitter was able to handle it. The instruction as everybody complained about were... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Quiet
Cons: Bad Instructions
Karin Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Elmer R.
Florence, KY
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 10/27/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
17
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Purchase
I will never split wood any other way.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations, Total Satisfaction
Cons: No Cons
Elmer Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Martin M.
Millersburg, MI
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 10/19/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
09
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
Very good for my needs.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, Features
Cons: Bad Instructions
Martin Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Eugene R.
Shady Cove, OR
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 10/11/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
01
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Little Splitter
It works perfectly for my needs, I feed an air tight stove, so I like the wood split in small pieces. I can control the heat better, I don't need heat all day in most cases, just a fire in the AM.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Store, Quiet
Eugene Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Joseph P.
Lafayette, KY
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 10/11/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
01
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
So Far So Good... I Have A Lot To Do
I've only used it a few times so far...So the jury is still out.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Easy To Store, So Far So Goodit Seems Stronger Than The Previous One I Had
Cons: Bad Instructions, No Wiring Schematic
Joseph Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Gary B.
Osseo, MI
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 8/15/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
05
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good For The Price
Log splitter arrived promptly and was well packaged. Directions were very poorly written, but the pictures on the box allowed me to figure out how to set it up. It worked well, but larger logs needed to be cut down from the outside edges in a series of passes.
Only used once, but so far so good. Best used for occasional light to moderate work.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Light Weight, Easy To Store
Cons: Bad Instructions
Gary Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Chris H.
Eastport, NY
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 7/16/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
20
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great, Just Louder Than Expected
Split 3 cords of wood, some big logs very easy. Worked like a gas splitter. Impressed with the power. The humming noise is a bit annoying after a while. I just put some music on my headphones and it was better.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Price, Easy To Store
Cons: Heavy, Louder Than Expected, Hums Loud When Idling, Wear Ear Protection
Chris Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Vincent W.
Yardville, NJ
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 7/16/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
06
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Back Saver
Was splitting wood by hand till someone recommend an affordable electric splitter. This works great, has really saved my back. Only problem I had was trying to figure out assembly instructions. I still have 1 piece I don't know where it goes.
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, Quiet, Fast
Cons: Packaging
Vincent Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Brad
Berrien Springs, MI
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 5/1/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
22
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Splitter For Home Use!
Bought this splitter for home use to replace our foot powered splitter. Yes, our legs were getting tired and it was a very slow process. I am pleased with this splitter, what a time saver. It does what it says, splits up to 12" diameter logs with very little issue. It strains a little with some of the greener logs, but we can always use the foot powered splitter to take care of these. My sons are very grateful because they were doing most of the splitting. I couldn't find any electric... more
Was this review helpful?
11
Greg
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 2/28/13
REVIEWED
APR.
05
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Little Machine
Bought this for the wife to split larger pieces of wood in the basement. After having some struggles with the install (directions need some help) she has used it multiple times. Extremely easy to use and leaves a clean work area. Some of the more knotty pieces will get stuck on the wedge if you are not paying attention. I would certainly recommend this machine for anyone doing light work indoors.
Was this review helpful?
00
Les
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 3/9/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
30
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Log Splitter
The log splitter is even better than I expected, it has split everything I have put into it. It not only saves me time but it also has helped me with my tennis elbow. I was splitting wood by hand before and I was in a great deal of pain, now that I have the electric splitter, splitting wood is a breeze. I was also impressed how fast I got the splitter, I ordered it on a Saturday while your business was closed and received it on Tuesday. Not to mention the free shipping, that is awesome!
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Edward S.
Port Clinton, OH
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 1/26/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Log Splitter
The log sptitter that I order came fast and well packaged .I have used it a lot in my garage, it works great. Easy to put together. Fifteen minutes later I was splitting wood. Great Tool, thanks.
Was this review helpful?
00
Richard S.
Potomac, MD
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 10/27/12
REVIEWED
FEB.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Decision For My Situation
I own a property on the Eastern Shore. From time-to-time trees are blown down and I end up with an ample amount of firewood.

My decision was for an electric model and the smaller size was for the convenience. Fortunately, the wood pile is very near the shed where I will draw the electricity.

Yesterday I cut just four average size pieces and filled the wood hauler. I am very happy with my purchase; this model was the right decision for my situation.
Was this review helpful?
00
James
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 12/9/09
REVIEWED
JAN.
28
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Lol Splitter Powerhouse Fx128-z
Best unit, best price. I highly recommend for home use. Electric a big plus !!!
Was this review helpful?
22
Jerry
Mechanicsburg, PA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 12/31/12
REVIEWED
JAN.
26
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Tired Of Splitting By Hand
This is the most worthwhile purchase that I have made in a long time. Last weekend I split a pickup truck load of oak and maple in no time at all. This would have taken me several days to do with wedges and a sledge. The unit is quiet, easy to operate and has plenty of power. I wish that I had gotten one of these years ago.
Was this review helpful?
00
Rhonda H Valdez
Espanola, NM
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 12/23/12
REVIEWED
JAN.
15
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ms. Valdez
I bought this for my husband. It is cheaper to buy split wood. You get more. He was hurting from using the axe, wedge, etc. So I bought him a wood splitter. HE LOVES IT! It's his new favorite toy! He's learning the in's and out's of it.

Now I have plenty of wood, and he is not hurting from doing it "the old-fashioned way". He's still working out some of the kinks, finding the right height to place it at so it doesn't put too much stress on his back, lifting up these big split... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Lisa
Dillsboro, IN
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 12/14/12
REVIEWED
JAN.
07
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Handy Logspitter
The powerhouse log splitter I purchased is an excellent little splitter.
Only downfall is the framework where the logs sit before splitting is made with cheap metal and bends easily.
Other than that it works like a charm.
Was this review helpful?
00
Gordon
East New Market, MD
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 12/15/12
REVIEWED
JAN.
05
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Couldn't Live Through This Winter Without One.
Long ago I purchased a 7 ton electric splitter to replace a smaller one.
It has proved to be the best investment in my firewood tools and very dependable.
Unfortunately it lost splitting power and I noticed a pool of hydraulic fluid on the table.
I finally located a 20mm open end wrench and tightened the high pressure coupling and
It has been serving well ever since. I was concerned that I might overfill the reservoir but
dug out the manual and it resolved my concerns.
The splitter in... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Tommy
Kaleva, MI
REVIEWED
NOV.
25
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Does The Job, But Beware!
We bought this unit just for re-splitting our firewood. As others have said, the instructions aren't the best. The Chinese to English translation is lost. The handle guard, if installed, makes it impossible to operate the handles.

Two items that could make the splitter better are the ram length and the ram face. The ram could be 2"-3" longer. The wood just doesn't spit far enough. The ram face is a safety hazard. An accident waiting to happen. The face is rounded!! If the log has... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Stewart
Chatom, AL
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 6/11/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
22
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Is A Great Tool
This Powerhouse 7-Ton splitter has been a remarkable piece of equipment. It works far better than I expected, which is different from most of the stuff I have.

I've split chunks in less than 2 minutes that would take me an hour to do by sledge and wedge. It is designed to optimize performance.

Delivery was prompt and assembly instructions seemed satisfactory. It's easy to transport, and stores out of the way.

I couldn't ask for any better product.
Was this review helpful?
00
Kevin
Rocky River, OH
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 10/15/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
05
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
One Fireplace Splitter
This splitter is great for the person who burns wood in the fireplace on the weekends.

I split more wood in 2 hours than I could split all summer! I only had one piece I could not split, so used my chain saw and cut 5" down and set that in the wedge- it worked great.

If you have cords and cords of wood to split go for the bigger splitter. I had my doubts about electric splitters (but not any more).
Was this review helpful?
00
Marge
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/3/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
24
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Needed To Make Smaller Pieces
I am a single woman. I bought it, put it together and started using it on logs that had been split once already.

I have a small wood insert and needed to make smaller pieces to burn. It took me over an hour to get it together due to vague directions.

It is easy to use and I would recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful?
00
Bill
REVIEWED
SEP.
18
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
More Than What I Thought
Great splitter and service and delivery were great !!!!

I couldn't ask for any better.
Was this review helpful?
00
Carroll A.
Burnsville, MN
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 8/19/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
11
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Works Like A Champ
This 7-ton log splitter is a good bet for the price. It is very quiet.

A minor problem is the rubber feet that don't exactly fit the base of the frame. They have a tendency to fall off. This is easily rectified by a little rubber cement to make them hold securely. Another minor problem is that the wheels are not spaced far enough apart for stability when rolling over uneven ground. The splitter is a little top-heavy and unstable in such a situation.

Otherwise it works like a... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Kent W.
Antlers, OK
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 8/11/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
04
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Enjoy Splitting Wood Now
We really like this splitter, the one and only issue we have is wish it had a little bit bigger electric motor. The 3.5 amp is a little small to run the 7 ton capacity.

We sure are looking forward to a nice fire in the fireplace this winter with all the wood we are getting split now.

Great buy and works wonderful.
Was this review helpful?
00
Bill
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 8/27/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
28
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It's So Good I Am Splitting Logs Too Small- Lol
Just got this today- delivery and service were fantastic !!!!!

I had a rack full of wood that was way too big. The guy I bought it from gave me a great price, but it would not split good (or at all) in old splitter.

The rack was 4' x 8' x 2' deep, and it was full of hard woods: a little bit of hickory, a lot of maple, cedar, oak, and a little sycamore. Most of it had been halved on a big commercial splitter. There were 8" to 12" dia. logs with lots of knots, 18"... more
Was this review helpful?
00
John
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 6/15/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
19
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good, But Small
Works well, but limited to mid-sized logs.

If you have any of the big stuff, you'll need to quarter it first

Otherwise, no complaints. It's easy to use and does what it promises to do.

The assembly instructions were absolutely confusing. Not much to assemble, so it was not a major issue, but if you had to go by the instructions, it would be a major issue.
Was this review helpful?
00
Mark
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 5/28/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
31
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Buy This Splitter!!
Best purchase I have made in years...It won't split green wood, but takes on pieces as much as 2 foot in diameter with no problem.

I really can't believe the amount of work this machine does for me, and the amount of wood I can split in just a few hours...

Now, if someone would invent a machine to turn down the heat here in Tennessee this summer, maybe I can finish my log splitting.
Was this review helpful?
00
Theresa
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 7/6/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
25
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Little Splitter!
We needed a new log splitter to cut a few logs and decided to buy one rather then rent one.

This did the job better then I expected, it went through the logs with no problem. The unit was easy to use and it size makes it easy to store.
Was this review helpful?
00
Stewart
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 6/11/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
03
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Simply Amazing !!!
The Powerhouse splitter leaves nothing to be desired for me. I've used it to split every large piece of wood that was in my woodpile.

It did its' job exactly like I wanted. Big stuff required several different pushes, but all were reduced to stove-size wood.

Most cuts split right down the middle, with the two pieces falling off the bed on either side of the machine. I've found nothing that would negate this unit.

At this time, I have no need for any other splitter. Thanks....
Was this review helpful?
00
Ron
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 5/22/12
REVIEWED
JUN.
13
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Does All That I Asked Of It
Wasn't sure about an electric powered splitter. Can it do the job I had in mind? I have stacks of large diameter chunks of various wood that is too big for my fireplace. It's seasoned wood and it needed splitting.

The splitter I bought does all that I asked of it. It has plenty of power. It's electric, so no fumbling with getting a gas engine started or maintained. It's footprint is small so storage is no problem. And the price is very reasonable compared to a large hydraulic splitter.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Ed
Monticello, IN
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 4/29/12
REVIEWED
MAY.
21
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Bad Ash
I had an ash tree that died last year and had to be cut down (not because of the beetle). The wood has been seasoning in my back yard waiting to be split.

On a tight budget this little splitter has performed admirably. While I'm not done yet, it has done exactly what I wanted it to do.

Assembly was easy, the splitter light enough to haul around and plug directly into my 5000W generator so that I had the proper amperage, then go to work.

Some larger logs had to be rammed twice... more
Was this review helpful?
00
John Dostal
Wellington, OH
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 1/22/12
REVIEWED
MAR.
10
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Malfunctioning Splitter Powerhouse Electric
Initially splitter was awsome,split everything i had but after three weeks it started to develop a problem with the left control handle,felt like it was grinding the aluminum housing away which after dissassembly i discovered it was, not repairable factory kept giving me instructions on how to repair it,i shouldnt have to repair a new splitter. the factory kept dancing around the mullberry bush about fixing it.

contacted Mike at LSD he was absoultely fantastic in regards to resolving this... more
Was this review helpful?
00
James C.
Ellsworth, ME
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 2/16/12
REVIEWED
MAR.
08
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Real Nice Wood Spliter For The Money
Used the Spliter Today For the Fist Time Works Great Used For 3 Hr Non Stop No Matter What I Put in It It Ate It Up.

I Would Buy Another One in a Hart Beat.
Was this review helpful?
00
Doug Morton
Agua Dulce, CA
REVIEWED
DEC.
29
2011
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Works Good - But Instructions Are Useless
Do the Powerhouse people ever read these reviews? Lots of people are saying the same thing - the instructions do not match the product, so you have to figure it out yourself. The major problem I had was it blew the circuit breaker as soon as I turned it on. Looked everywhere for an amperage rating - couldn't find it. Apparently it draws over 20 amps because I finally got it to work on a 30-amp circuit.

LSD RESPONDS: We've asked the folks that distribute Powerhouse to upgrade the... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Paige Morton
Agua Dulce, CA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 12/5/11
REVIEWED
DEC.
29
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Looking For Xmas Gift For The Hubby
He wanted a log splitter. I had no clue. I was able to cross compare this website with the big box stores.

After figuring which one would do best for us, I picked one and found with this site, we had no tax and free shipping.

Saved me a trip to the store as well. Just wish they could have gift wrapped.
Was this review helpful?
00
Roy
Rogers, AR
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 11/29/11
REVIEWED
DEC.
22
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy With The Job It Has Done
Works better than expected. Only problem was I ordered a FX128-Z and the papers said I received a LS7T-52 and the box says it is a XM-380. I am told it all the same splitter but very confusing.

It works very well and I am happy with the job it has done for me.

LSD RESPONDS: We are sorry for the confusion. Powerhouse markets to many companies, which is how you get the same product with different model numbers.

Rather than make our customers wait weeks for the boxes with our model... more
Was this review helpful?
00
William
Cincinnati, OH
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 10/10/11
REVIEWED
DEC.
18
2011
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Powerhouse-fx128-z
THE GOOD
Have used log splitter once for about 5 hours and I am pleased with initial performance.
(Splitting is good, with good portability)

THE BAD
The user manual ls extremely poor.
- The illustrations are too small with fine print.
- The printed book I received is different than the website manual
- Lacks clear, easy to understand instructions on changing hydraulic fluid.

- Recommended hydraulic fluid oil (Shell Tellus T22, Mobile DTE 11 , Aral Vitam GF22)
is not available in... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert C. Jr.
Enterprise, WV
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 11/24/11
REVIEWED
DEC.
18
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Why Did I Wait So Long?!
My 74 year old father had this put together before I got to see it. We tried it together and it worked great!

Later that day he split a small pile in less then 10 minutes. Logs with knots he positioned just off the knot and had no problem splitting.

He said he wished he'd gotten one five years ago, but he doesn't own a computer and all you will find in stores are 5 ton splitters.

Check that the on -off switch is threaded tightly. It came loose on my Dad, and he thought he"d... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Pat
Las Vegas, NV
REVIEWED
NOV.
23
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fx128-z Ok
Safety operational guard over handles broke off while moving splitter first time. But splitter is strong, fast, and quiet.

Two cords in and everything is ok.

LSD RESPONDS: Please contact the folks at Powerhouse at 503.575.9407; they will be happy to send you out a replacement guard.

Be sure to have the serial number of your unit handy when you call, in case they ask for it.
Was this review helpful?
00
Stephen W.
Ewing, NJ
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 11/15/11
REVIEWED
NOV.
21
2011
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Used First Time Saturday
The green toggle switch remains on , so the only way to power on and off is to pull plug from outlet
Does a great job, for what we need . All in all for the money it's a good buy.
Was this review helpful?
00
James B.
Manasquan, NJ
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 10/10/11
REVIEWED
NOV.
03
2011
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
7 Ton Log Splitter
The Directions For Assembly of This "Powerhouse" Were Quite Confusing With Some Mechanical Attributes, This Electric Machine Can Be Made to Work However, Once One Figures That You Must Hold Down Two Levers to Get the Thing to Move Along the Rail, You Can Overlook the Loud Whine of the Motor. This Splitter Does Thorough Work of "Seasoned" Logs of the Dimensions Made in Chingish (Chinese Learning English) I Could Do a Masterful Job of Writing This Manual.

This Splitter Is... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Bubba
Lakemont, GA
REVIEWED
OCT.
25
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fantastic Splitter
Assembly "instructions" were pretty much useless, BUT assembly was still a breeze.

This "little" splitter has split everything I've put on it. Some of the larger logs require a bit of tweaking (i.e. smaller bites from edges rather than half-splitting the whole log) but they're all split and on the woodpile. Knots, "Y"s, everything has come right apart.

I've also had to use a small "pushing block" to overcome the short travel on the hydraulic ram... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Carter W.
Ringgold, GA
REVIEWED
AUG.
31
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Is The Chuck Norris Of Electric Log Splitters
Received my splitter in less than one week. I ordered a scratch and dent model and the only damages I noticed were a few scratches in the paint. The unit was packed well and fairly easy to assemble but the instructions were terrible.

I live in Ringgold, GA and the EF4 tornado of April 27 went right through my backyard and a 12 acre wooded area that I own. For the last 3 months, the best volunteers in the world have helped me cut up and clear the 52 tress that were downed on my property.... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Louis
New Boston, MI
REVIEWED
JUN.
14
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Splitter
Love my log splitter, works like a champ.
Was this review helpful?
00
Stas
Downingtown, PA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 12/31/10
REVIEWED
JAN.
24
2011
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Little Log Splitter!
It isn't without it's issues, but it certainly does a fantastic job.

The two handled system is annoying, but if your hands are big you can hold down both levers easily with one hand.
Which I'm sure goes against the MFG's recommendations & voids my warranty.

The rails that hold the logs on bent or bowed almost immediately, but not a big deal. I doubt the logs were wider than 10 inches, but I was too busy splitting wood to bother measuring.
As others stated the wheels are way too... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Bill
Monroe, CT
REVIEWED
SEP.
20
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worked Great
I used the log splitter today for the first time. It worked Great, but I can not shut it off by the switch. I will have to call the company and see if they will send me a new on off switch.

The log splitter itself is a real time and back saver.

LSD RESPONDS: You can contact the folks at Powerhouse at (843)492-5283, or by email at www.powerhouselogsplitters.com . They will be happy to troubleshoot the switch with you.
Was this review helpful?
00
Hector Gutierrez
Mission, TX
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 4/14/10
REVIEWED
MAY.
06
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Better For Mesquite
I am very happy with this splitter. It has the right amount of power for my mesquite wood splitting. Much better than the one I had before. It was a 5 ton though.
Was this review helpful?
00
John Dobry
Noble, OK
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 3/3/10
REVIEWED
MAR.
24
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Very Well
I just got it in today. I don't remember if it said anywhere that assembly was required. But it's really no problem.

You will need a 3/8" wrench and 3/8" socket for the legs, control arms and shield; and a 5/8" wrench for the wheel assembly. You will probably need pliers to initially loosen the bleed screw, too- after that it's just finger tight.

90% of the logs I split were 12 to 16" in diameter. They were all oak and green.

A few were difficult because of... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael King
Beaver, UT
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 12/13/09
REVIEWED
DEC.
27
2009
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product. Plenty Of Power.
We have been in the market for a good log splitter for awhile now. We went to Home Depot but they only had underpowered electric or very pricey 20+ton gas models.

I really wanted an electric since this is a seasonal item and I don't want the hassle of storing a gas splitter. I found this 7-ton splitter and ordered it.

It was delivered much sooner than I expected and works great.

We have a bunch of left over 8 inch logs from building our cabin. I have been cutting them at 19-20... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Joseph F.
Wyoming, PA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 12/4/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
05
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Farmerjoe
Very good splitter for small diameter logs like used in cook stove. Quiet and easy to use.
Joseph Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Joseph's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Good product for its purpose."
 more
Was this review helpful?
01
Rodney M.
Boulder Creek, CA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 1/6/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Best Splitter Ever.
love it

does a great job
Rodney Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Richard P.
Mt. Morris, MI
REVIEWED
JAN.
17
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Electric Wood Cutter
Very bad instructions, cant see or read. Cheap plastic handle. Broke on arrival. Made my own handle 16 inch long. Galvanize steel, hollow pipe. Painted black. Put rubber bike handles on both ends. Drill 2 -5/16 holes. Put 2 brass bolts through holes. Brass washer in nut on end of bolt/ now that's what you call a handle. Looks nice too. Not that cheap plastic handle that broke.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Light Weight, Quiet
Cons: Bad Instructions, Packaging
Was this review helpful?
01
Andrew T.
Sapphire, NC
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/8/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
29
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Works Well
Slight oil leak. Rubber pads on front legs have broken.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Easy To Store, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Heavy
Andrew Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Daryl F.
Auberry, CA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 8/31/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
21
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It's Working My Butt Off
I'm running the controls, my son said he had enough. My wife went back into the house she told me she had enough. I would guess I split a cord of wood in less than two hours. I have a mall for sale. Cheap.....
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Easy To Store, Quiet
Cons: Bad Instructions
Daryl Recommends This Powerhouse Product
Was this review helpful?
01
David
Hesperia, CA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 12/11/12
REVIEWED
JAN.
01
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fx128z
It actully does better than I thought it would
Was this review helpful?
01
Anthony P.
Huntington, NY
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 11/2/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
30
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
I only use it occasionally; it works great.
Was this review helpful?
01
John B.
Ridgewood, NJ
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 11/5/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
26
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pushing The Limit
I have split an 11" log and will try 12" next, which is the rated limit. It is working fine except for one hard type of wood which I can not identify. I have a lot of green oak to split but I will wait for it to season before I split it.

No way I could do all this work by hand.
Was this review helpful?
01
Lee
Signal Mountain, TN
REVIEWED
SEP.
19
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
On Hand And In Use
Just received my splitter via UPS. Packaging was fine and I immediately unpacked it and started assembly. Right off the bat, the instructions were not clear at all. Additionally, 2 nuts/bolts were missing.

Regardless, assembled the splitter, opened the hydraulic relief, and tested on a few logs.

EXCELLENT results!!! While the wood was river birch and rather soft, the diameter exceeded the size specified as both were about 18" dia. The size didn't bother the splitter at all. ... more
Was this review helpful?
01
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Powerhouse FX128-Z electric log splitter reviews.Compare our Powerhouse FX128-Z ratings. Find the Powerhouse FX128-Z electric log splitter that is right for you.