Search
< Back to Product

Woodchuck W001 Log Jacks Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
$129.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$129.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
Woodchuck W001 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (11)
Exceeded Expectations (8)
Light Weight (7)
Durable (6)
High Quality (5)
Cons
None noted (1)
94% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
32 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jim B.
Carthage, NC
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 10/24/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
NOV.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Little Tool
very handy tool works well light weight and durable
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Light Weight, High Quality
Jim Recommends This Woodchuck Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Harvey B.
King George, VA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 8/18/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Tool
This is a great log jack. I purchased a cheaper log jack a few years ago. It was made of steal tubes (basically bent pipes held together with nuts, bolts and metal tabs. after trying to roll a larger log the tubes bent.

The Woodchuck is working better than expected. I used it to roll and hold a 20 inch log yesterday. No bending with the Woodchuck construction! I should have bought this years ago.
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Durable, Light Weight
Cons: None noted
Harvey Recommends This Woodchuck Product
Harvey's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great experience."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Blythe Jones, Product Specialist
Power Equipment Direct, IL
Total Reviews
37 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
230 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
04
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Four Great Tools In One
Limit the amount of stuff you carry with your chain saw with this handy tool from Woodchuck.

Once you get the tree down, you need to cut it up.

Rather than cutting through the tree into the dirt and dulling your chain saw blade, use the Woodchuck as a log jack and get the log off the ground.

As a log roller, the long handle on the Woodchuck gives you leverage on the log so you can move it with less effort.

Use the Woodchuck as a saw buck by attaching it to a nearby tree trunk,... more
View Image
View Image
View Image
View Image
Was this review helpful?
194
Blythe Jones
Power Equipment Direct, IL
REVIEWED
MAY.
11
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Four Great Tools In One
Limit the amount of stuff you carry with your chain saw with this handy tool from Woodchuck.

Once you get the tree down, you need to cut it up.

Rather than cutting through the tree into the dirt and dulling your chain saw blade, use the Woodchuck as a log jack and get the log off the ground.

As a log roller, the long handle on the Woodchuck gives you leverage on the log so you can move it with less effort.

Use the Woodchuck as a saw buck by attaching it to a nearby tree trunk,... more
View Image
View Image
View Image
View Image
Was this review helpful?
23
Blythe Jones
Power Equipment Direct, IL
REVIEWED
MAY.
11
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Four Great Tools In One
Limit the amount of stuff you carry with your chain saw with this handy tool from Woodchuck.

Once you get the tree down, you need to cut it up.

Rather than cutting through the tree into the dirt and dulling your chain saw blade, use the Woodchuck as a log jack and get the log off the ground.

As a log roller, the long handle on the Woodchuck gives you leverage on the log so you can move it with less effort.

Use the Woodchuck as a saw buck by attaching it to a nearby tree trunk,... more
View Image
View Image
Was this review helpful?
02
Laura M.
Maidens, VA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 7/13/13
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
07
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Woodchuck Can Chuck Wood!
I had to provide my husband something that would keep him going as I have us taking down huge trees surrounding the house and around our property. After many weekends of him thinking I was trying to kill him for his life insurance money I bought him the Woodchuck and now he is singing the Woodchuck tune. Each time it easily lifts the tree log up in the air for him to cut it up and keep his chainsaw from getting stuck. I'll refrain from describing the language he used to scream out before I... more
Pros: Durable, Features, Easy To Use, High Quality
Laura Recommends This Woodchuck Product
Was this review helpful?
102
Mike
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
03
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Huge Timesaver
Two months ago, I had several 6 foot lengths of oak, roughly 18-28" in diameter. Without this tool, all I could do was roll the logs back and forth to complete saw cuts without hitting dirt.

Now, with my Woodchuck, it takes just minutes to lock the jaws, roll the log and complete a few cuts without having to worry about the ground, rocks, etc.

This was useful for some REALLY wide logs as well, including what must have been the base of the tree going over 30" in diameter. At... more
Was this review helpful?
102
Joe D.
Thurman, NY
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/10/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
01
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Headed North
Moving to the Adirondack Mts. means firewood if you are off the grid. The Woodchuck is indispensable, period. There are other tools of the trade out there but in my research, this is the best for your hard earned dollar. It is a quality built tool BECAUSE IT'S MADE IN THE USA!!!
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Joe Recommends This Woodchuck Product
Joe Would Recommend Log Splitters Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The website is detailed, well layed out, easy to navigate and order. Loads of good products for the prosumer."
 more
Was this review helpful?
92
Gerry S.
Mattawan, MI
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/21/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Strength Of 10 Men!
It's solid, super leverage, not sure how you'd work without it. Thanks all.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Durable, Reliable
Gerry Recommends This Woodchuck Product
Was this review helpful?
72
Paul S.
Oakton, VA
REVIEWED
NOV.
12
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works As Promised
I had a number of dead oak trees on 6 acres that needed to come down. Recent storms brought down 3 live ones as well.

The Woodchuck has been a very handy tool. I've used it to roll logs and to lift them before cutting (keeps the chain out of the dirt). I haven't used it for any of the other uses.

It works as advertised. The teeth bite into the wood and hold well. The design is sturdy enough to take a lot of abuse. It's a bit heavy compared to my old log roller, but to be fair the old one... more
Was this review helpful?
50
Keegan
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/4/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
07
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Versatile Tool
I had to shuffle and cut up 3 fallen locust trees after Sandy came through. and this tool was the support equipment I needed to get the job done.

It is a little heavy since it is is designed to do more than just roll a log, but it was instrumental in assisting me to safely buck up the trees and being a second hand when I needed one.

Great Tool design!
Was this review helpful?
50
William G.
Bellingham, WA
REVIEWED
NOV.
24
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Built To Last
It's nice to see quality in an American made product. The makers of these tools have the right to be very proud of what they make. Works as advertised.
William Recommends This Woodchuck Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Rick
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 11/22/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
14
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Looking For Something To Help Roll Logs
Hesitant to purchase with shipping, but now I'm glad I did. It truly is an extra set of hands, well worth the price.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, Light Weight
Rick Recommends This Woodchuck Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Brad T.
Edmond, OK
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 7/9/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
20
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pays For Itself In Less Than A Day
When I showed up with this tool, it got the same reactions as if I had brought a $100,000 car. Better than that, it felt like I was driving one when compared to how others were struggling to cut up their downed trees.
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Brad Recommends This Woodchuck Product
Brad Would Recommend Log Splitters Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Everything was just as one would expect when spending their money."
 more
Was this review helpful?
62
Greg S.
Glen Rock, PA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 10/22/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
12
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It
It's the best hook I've bought. It's really tough!
Greg Recommends This Woodchuck Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Mountain M.
Timberline, CO
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/11/12
REVIEWED
JUN.
24
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Laughs At Logs
We live above 9,000 feet and heat the house with firewood during our 7..9 months of winter, so we go through a lot of firewood. This thing makes things easy by lifting up the 20 foot logs off the ground like they're nothing and holds them firmly off the ground so we can cut them without hitting the dirt and rocks with our saws. We just can't kill the darn thing. The professional loggers come over and admire it, too, so we point 'em here.
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Durable, Reliable
Mountain Recommends This Woodchuck Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Randy B.
Edgewood, TX
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 1/6/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Makes Life A Little Easier
Sure helps us old guys!
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Durable, Price
Randy Recommends This Woodchuck Product
Randy Would Recommend Log Splitters Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast service!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
63
Mike
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 10/16/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
29
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Huge Timesaver
Two months ago, I had several 6 foot lengths of oak, roughly 18-28" in diameter. Without this tool, all I could do was roll the logs back and forth to complete saw cuts without hitting dirt.

Now, with my Woodchuck, it takes just minutes to lock the jaws, roll the log and complete a few cuts without having to worry about the ground, rocks, etc.

This was useful for some REALLY wide logs as well, including what must have been the base of the tree going over 30" in diameter. At... more
Was this review helpful?
30
Keegan
REVIEWED
NOV.
09
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Second Hand When I Needed One
I had to shuffle and cut up 3 fallen locust trees after Sandy came through. and this tool was the support equipment I needed to get the job done.

It is a little heavy since it is is designed to do more than just roll a log, but it was instrumental in assisting me to safely buck up the trees and being a second hand when I needed one.

Great Tool design!
Was this review helpful?
30
Paul S.
Oakton, VA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 5/15/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
17
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works As Promised
Had a number of dead oak trees on 6 acres that needed to come down. Recent storms brought down 3 live ones as well.

The Woodchuck has been a very handy tool. I've used it to roll logs and to lift them before cutting (keeps the chain out of the dirt). I haven't used it for any of the other uses.

It works as advertised. The teeth bite into the wood and hold well. The design is sturdy enough to take a lot of abuse. It's a bit heavy compared to my old log roller, but to be fair the... more
Was this review helpful?
30
Larry S.
Gilbertsville, KY
REVIEWED
JUL.
29
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Ability To Roll Very Large Logs Amazes Me!
I am a home owner and have had this for a couple years. This is used at my lake property where I split about 8 cords of wood a year.

Last weekend my neighbor and I split a a very large Ash tree that was 40 inches in diameter that the tree service cut into 8 foot lengths. Two of us were able to use this log jack to roll the log off the ground and cut it with a chain saw...it was amazing.

I had a chance to call the company because I accidentally hit one of the teeth with my saw. They... more
Pros: Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, Durable
Larry Recommends This Woodchuck Product
Larry's Experience With Log Splitters Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"One of the best internet retailers I have ever worked with."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Kerry Donald P.
Ione, OR
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 2/3/14
REVIEWED
MAR.
17
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Needed
Had trouble with oil furnace this year. Weather has been very cold. Got one of our dead Locust trees. Cut up in a jiffy with this thing.
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Features, Great Product
Kerry Recommends This Woodchuck Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Clint B.
Sheridan, IN
REVIEWED
MAY.
20
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Logging Tool I've Got
The very best tool I have- wouldn't take nothing for it!!!!

Best logging tool I've got ..i had my doubts about it when I first got it, but now I'm a believer!!

This is one easy tool to use, it is so easy to chain to a tree and put a small log into it and start cutting. I would tell anyone who cuts wood by themselves to get a Woodchuck.

It is well worth what I paid, and then some. Thanks for a great product.
Was this review helpful?
10
Clint B.
Sheridan, IN
REVIEWED
MAY.
20
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Logging Tool I've Got
The very best tool I have- wouldn't take nothing for it!!!!

Best logging tool I've got ..i had my doubts about it when I first got it, but now I'm a believer!!

This is one easy tool to use, it is so easy to chain to a tree and put a small log into it and start cutting. I would tell anyone who cuts wood by themselves to get a Woodchuck.

It is well worth what I paid, and then some. Thanks for a great product.
Was this review helpful?
10
Clint B.
Sheridan, IN
REVIEWED
MAY.
16
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Logging Tool I've Got!
The very best tool I have- wouldn't take nothing for it!!!!

Best logging tool I've got ..i had my doubts about it when I first got it, but now I'm a believer!!

This is one easy tool to use, it is so easy to chain to a tree and put a small log into it and start cutting. I would tell anyone who cuts wood by themselves to get a Woodchuck.

It is well worth what I paid, and then some. Thanks for a great product.
Was this review helpful?
10
David
Dewitt, MI
REVIEWED
APR.
12
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Performs Every Task I Ask
Made in the USA makes a big difference!!!!!!

This product performs every task I ask. Being able to chain it to a tree to cut smaller logs really saves my back.

I was able to roll logs on a hill--side ways with no slipping.

Having used the product I would pay $200 to replace it.
Was this review helpful?
10
David
Dewitt, MI
REVIEWED
APR.
12
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Performs Every Task I Ask
Made in the USA makes a big difference!!!!!!

This product performs every task I ask. Being able to chain it to a tree to cut smaller logs really saves my back.

I was able to roll logs on a hill--side ways with no slipping.

Having used the product I would pay $200 to replace it.
Was this review helpful?
10
Barry D.
Big Canoe, GA
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 3/23/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works As Advertised
I'm not mechanical, but once I figured out all the ways it can be used, it worked out just fine. I would recommend, but instructions could have been better
Barry Recommends This Woodchuck Product
Was this review helpful?
11
David
Dewitt, MI
REVIEWED
APR.
19
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Performs Every Task I Ask
Made in the USA makes a big difference!!!!!!

This product performs every task I ask. Being able to chain it to a tree to cut smaller logs really saves my back.

I was able to roll logs on a hill--side ways with no slipping.

Having used the product I would pay $200 to replace it.
Was this review helpful?
00
Debbie B.
Millington, MI
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 8/29/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wood Chuck Log Jack
WOW!! This log jack rocks! It makes cutting the logs so much easier and safer.

I cut wood for my own personal wood burner, and it was a challenge going out in the woods and moving these logs by myself - pulling them, rolling them around.

Now I just flip them with this jack, and it's so much safer and easier than ever. I highly recommend this to anyone that cuts wood. It's the best! So glad I purchased this from you. I will definitely recommend this baby to all my friends and family.
Debbie Recommends This Woodchuck Product
Was this review helpful?
01
John Moscone
Ridgefield, CT
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 10/23/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
26
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Spend A Little Extra The First Time For Safety And Performance.
Whenever I use my wooden handle log lifter, the log seems to roll a little further than I would like. If it is a large & long log, I have had it roll off and onto the ground just missing my feet. This does not happen with this tool. It is stable. It digs into the log securely and it does not bury the end of the handle in the ground. The handle also does not pick up mildew as my wooden one did. The adjustments are numerous and it makes it safe to work. Do not waste your money on... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, Light Weight
John Recommends This Woodchuck Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Dennis W.
Abilene, TX
Purchased from Log Splitters Direct
Purchased 9/2/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
28
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Woodchuck Review
Sturdy and well built but the feet are not wide enough and make the product very unstable. Tips over easily making It very dangerous when you're right in the middle of sawing through the log.

Overall, it's an OK product, but I think the $49 tractor supply model is just as good for holding the logs. Save your money and buy the cheap one from tractor supply.
Dennis Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
02
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Woodchuck W001 log jack reviews.Compare our Woodchuck W001 ratings. Find the Woodchuck W001 log jack that is right for you.